sunsets surrounded by Ice

in #photofeed5 years ago

When you are up at around midnight on the Antarctic Peninsula you might get the chance to witness a sunset, which can be time stopping to say the least. Keep in mind the sunrise is usually around 2am and sunsets are sometime around midnight, which means it can be a late night if you choose to remain awake for it or an early start depending if you wish to go to be early and wake up for sunrise.

This shot we just finished a long day cruising through thick brash ice and sea ice whilst doing 2 excursions around Verandsky Station and Petermann Island. We decided to start cruising towards the Antarctic Circle that evening and were greeted by an amazing sunset, which was at about 11:30pm and I couldn't resist taking my camera out for at least one photo to capture the peaceful moment of what was the end of an adventurous and busy day.


IMG_8169-1.jpg
Click image to view full size


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

Dont forget to Upvote & Resteem!!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed

Check out my website - Just BCOZ Photography

Sort:  

It's refreshing of the mind to see pictures like this. Thanks for sharing @thomasjmitchell. I'm following you now!

Thanks, mate! I greatly appreciate it!

That it was! but worth it

Beautiful and interesting to hear how long the days are. I experience a little bit that in Alaska in May. Nothing quite as long as 22 hour days!

I am glad you liked the post and photo! It is quite something else to experience it. hope you get the chance to do it sometime

I wish your photos were automatically applied as my background on my desktop. Each photo is at least as beautiful as the previous! Love your work!

haha! thanks, mate! I am stoked you enjoy my photos and posts :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69692.63
ETH 3775.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76