Madness - The white rabbit

in #photofeed6 years ago (edited)

This image has more meaning for me that will probably mean to others, but hear me out.


Background story

In the past, I've dealt with depression and anxiety mostly related to my career and passion - photography. I struggled for a few years to find my niche and start to make money off out of it and hearing that I will not make it every single day from people around me extremely was painful. Here in Romania, we don't have too many portrait photographer, and most people here don't like to share their "work secrets".

One thing that helped me out a lot and encouraged me to make peace with my madness was talking with other photographers around the world who have already made it in this industry and the way photo communities around the word praised my weirdness and my not so usual style of taking colorful portraits. I started to understand that you can have success around the globe without nobody from your town knowing it and that there are so many people in this world that the only thing you actually have to do is find the right community, even if it is just an online one. Talking to people who struggle with the same problems as you do will help you all find answers. So if you are struggling with something my advice is to look on facebook for groups of people who have the same passions as you.

What this image means to me

For me, this image symbolizes the moment I made peace with my demons and started to embrace my madness. Here the madness is symbolized by a white rabbit - a small reference to the famous novel "Alice's Adventures in Wonderland" by Lewis Carroll but with a twist.
The mask I chose to represent the white rabbit is low poly to contrast the round shapes of my model's haircut and the background is blue a color that usually calms people down another contrast with the color I picked for the model's outfit. Red is a powerful color in general, but here is desaturated to show the lack of power I felt inside myself at that time.
I know that it might be odd for some of you to create an image with so many contrasts when you want to express inner peace but the pose tells it all, no need for happy colors or a big smile.
mask design by wintercroft.

wabbit-171-Edit.jpg

Category#portraitphotography
CameraNikon D7000
Lens Nikon 50mm
Light3 speedlights
Locationbedroom studio

If this photo has any other meaning for you, I would love to hear from you in the comments below. I am sure a conceptual image like this can have a tone of different meanings depending on the person who is looking at it.

Sort:  

Cheers sir! i keep this on my wall and gaze at it regularly!

23434809_10156712553051729_1118361023879625738_n.jpg

hmm I might print one of those, it fits perfectly!
i have also "we are all mad here" one

@vmoldo . . . I can totally relate! I love everything about this! My life motto is to "Embrace the Madness" , really awesome pic, the fine details of choice to depict the message are very stylishly delivered!

You nailed the lighting too! Your Poly rabbit literally doesn't even look real! Great portrait!

This is an easy resteem for me!

Come say hey @nicknightshade sometime :)

It seemed she had been chasing the white rabbit for hours. She had called out for it to stop, but it kept going - occasionally looking over its shoulder to make sure she was still there. Reaching a large tree, the rabbit waited for Alice to catch up. It stepped forward and placed its forehead to hers. "You will save us Alice." It said.


Post Stories by @jfolkmann

@jfolkmann love it! thank you for taking your time

I'm glad you embraced your madness, your work is so interesting! :) I love all of the symbolism and meaning that you put into this picture. Really cool to hear your thought process.

I am planning for at least one more post about my madness soon

have upvoted you upvote me through this link https://steemit.com/@fenmark

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Oh this is wonderful <3 I love the image and its symbolism, the colors are wonderful and everything about the image is well thought out. Im following you now to see more of your work. Reblogged!

Thank you @eriluks
I'm glad you are enjoying my content, hope your followers will like it too

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by vmoldo from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

This post has received a 49.59 % upvote from @sleeplesswhale thanks to: @vmoldo.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60837.81
ETH 2874.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62