I got an August visitor in May

in #photography6 years ago

It was a Sunday morning, my family had just left for church. I was a little under the weather so I decided to stay home. I was about to enter the house when this beautiful creature landed on my hands staying perfectly still.
My mood had been somber since the night before but seeing the little fella, so free, so mobile, so out of place, I couldn't help but crack a smile.
I took a course on Entomology (study of Insects) back in College (CPP303 I believe) which I liked, so at a glance, I was able to classify it based on Kingdom, Phylum, Class and Order. I had to look up the rest.
Of course I took the picture with my phone so pardon the quality of the image.

IMG_20180513_072245.jpg

Classification

Domain: Eukarya (Eukaryotic)

Kingdom: Animalia (Animals)

Phylum: Arthropoda (Arthropods)

Class: Insecta (Insects)

Order: Orthoptera (Grasshoppers, Crickets, Katydids)

Suborder: Caelifera (Grasshoppers)

Family: Acrididae (Short-horned Grasshoppers)

Subfamily: Gomphocerinae (Slant-faced Grasshoppers)

Genus: Chloealtis

Species: Chloealtis conspersa

Sort:  

Congratulations @adesola-td! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70893.40
ETH 3659.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.76