Canon introduces a high-end 360 degrees camera

in #photography6 years ago

I just came across a cool patent. Canon has filed a patent for a 360 degrees camera. Such cameras are very popular lately, but they still lack image quality. This may change with the spherical camera of Canon.

canon-spherical-camera1.jpg

Letsgodigital has found a patent for an ‘Image Capturing apparatus and image capturing control method’. Canon filed the patent with the World Intellectual Property Organization March 26, 2018. The patent was published October 4, 2018. The patent describes a professional spherical camera system that contains of 8 lenses: one at the bottom and at the top and six divided over the middle axis. All 8 lenses can zoom individually and while only 2 are needed to produce a 360 degrees photograph, the other lenses are used to improve the in-camera stitching process.

canon-spherical-camera2.jpg

I am not sure if this camera will ever hit the market. However, the patent is fairly detailed, suggesting serious effort of Canon has been put in the design. A high-end spherical camera would be very welcome in my opinion. I therefore cannot wait to hear more about this camera.

What do you think, is there a market for a high-end 360 degrees camera?

Would you like me to write more about industry news? Let me know in the comments.

Don’t forget to Upvote, ReSteem, Comment or to Follow Me if you liked this post!

Sort:  

Interesting, for some time @humanearl has been enjoying the RYLO 360 Camera, and I really like seeing how his videos turn out.

You can click here to see the latest @humanearl video and check it out in action. I wonder how the canon one will differ in results, since the design sure looks different.

I know, there are various designs of 360 cameras on the market today. In design the patented camera looks a bit like the bubl 360 camera. I am also very interested to see the results. Somehow, I have found the output of 360 camera's a little disappointing until now. Maybe this will now change... Lets hope for the better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63659.40
ETH 3075.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01