Working night shift under aurora borealis

in #photography6 years ago (edited)


Always spectacular

I know that people from all around the world travel north of the arctic circle to get a experience of the northern lights/ aurora borealis. In Stokmarknes where I live "Hurtigruta" (a costal cruise) departures twise a day. Hurtigruta is a popular way to get a look at the northern lights. 

I am lucky to have seen it a lot of times along my 26 years and sometimes it is actualy a bit boring when it´s not strong and powerful. I said in the headline that it´s always spectacular and I still mean that. Sometimes through the season it's really powerful, strong and low on the sky, dancing fast with a lot of colors. That´s far past spectacular and I can´t stop watching the sky.

 

Now i´m working night shift,  I work as a police offiser in Vesterålen. A police officer here is driving long distances to cover the whole district, through parts where there´s no artificial light. Then we often stop for some minutes to look at the sky.

At the opposite side of the year it´s light all night long. This picture is from the middle of the night in the summer, also on nightshift.

Now I'm very tired so I will try to get half an hour with my eyes closed.

Andreas

Sort:  

Geez, I could not imagine being there! Very beautiful.

How do you keep a healthy sleep schedule with it being light pretty much all day during the summer?

I appreciate your comment :)

To be honest my sleep schedule are a lot sporadically because of the light. Its mainly because I have the possibilities to do so mutch things all day with need of less sleep :)

Sykt fint bilde! Har sett nordlyset her i sør, det var 2 % av det der....

Takker så masse :D hører snakk om at du skal nordover på besøk til Karri og dem snart! Blir hyggelig å hilse på da :)

Bare hyggelig! Ja, det blir artig å endelig oppleve nord, og å besøke dere alle! 😂

Det blir artig :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68