The Lost Photos #1 - Ireland, Beauty and Myth

in #photography7 years ago

“I close my eyes and picture the emerald of the sea,” -Johnny Cash, from his song 40 Shades of Green

Ireland


Until tragedy brought me back to the Pacific Northwest, I lived abroad, spending much of my time in Ireland where I worked on film sets, learned to surf, walked through ancient castles, and drank tons of Bulmers (a hard apple cider interestingly known as Magners everywhere else but Ireland, where it's produced.)

Recently, I discovered my old, beat-up Irish phone full of forgotten photos.



I thought it’d be fun to share these lost photos with you.

Here is the view from my apartment in a village called Bray, a peaceful seaside retreat close to Dublin. Just past the massive hillside is the Irish Sea.



On a narrow, cobbled street in Dublin that’s easy to miss, some of the best Irish rock musicians are memorialized on the Wall of Fame.



The best part about working on film sets in Ireland was being on-location in some of the most beautiful parts of the country. Ireland is underpopulated and very rural, which draws production companies filming ancient and mythical battle scenes because there’s no telephone poles in the background. Here’s one location site for a TV show I was involved in.



Anyone who has lived away from home knows the hardship of the holidays. Thankfully, I had great friends who made sure I was never alone on Christmas. One festive morning, while sleeping on a friend’s couch, I woke up to this furry fella who was as excited as the rest for feasting and gifts!



More lost photos to come as I sort through all of them, including those of ancient castles and deadly caves.

Lots of love,

@aescholer

As a newbie, I intend to post about my journey as I begin developing documentaries on the empowerment of women around the world with the belief that men and women can stand strong together, but I'll also be posting fiction and topics of personal interest, like these photos, and like my family's connection to an infamous serial killer and a royal family.

Sort:  

Thanks for the donation 😍😘😍🙄

Looks like should say the same to you?! Thank you! Lovely photos. Will send our new logo my son made. Can't from the cell, but I can if you send your email. If you want a logo with dual branding to Steemit, let me know. He does amazing work. Peace and blessings to you

Ok ill be in touch 👌

Just taking this opportunity to say "THANK YOU FOR FOLLOWING ME"

thank you thank you!! ;)

Great photos of ireland!! Especially the panoramic!

welcome to the family, i just upvoted and followed you, follow me back and feel free to check out my account!

Nic post i love it

Thanks for the SBD much appreciated and good blogs

Thanks for sharing!nice post.Keep them coming!

I absolutely LOVE that firts panoramic picture.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61451.22
ETH 2929.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65