A few facts about Albania

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Last year I made one of my dreams come true, the Balkan trip. I was travelling around the Balkan peninsula for almost 30days. Obviously, one of the countries I visited was Albania. Please, take a look at my shots and a few facts about the country. Did you know at least one of them?

Northern Epirus – Southern Albania – it’s the historical part of Greece where Olympia (the mother of Alexander the Great) and King Pyrrhus were born. You know the term “pyrrhic victory”, right?

Until the last decade of XX century, Albania and its people was quite the enigma. And I wouldn’t be surprised if there are still many people who are not that much familiar Albania’s culture and history. For example, did you know that Albanians call their country Shqipëria, which means “the land of eagles”?

Albania 8.jpg

Albania 5.jpg

Or did you know that Albanians come from the ancient Illyrians who, according to some theories, came to the Balkan Peninsula before the Greeks, and over a thousand years before the Slavs?

Another not well-known fact is that the Albanian language – Shqip – derives from Ilir, and is not similar to any other known language.

Albania 6.jpg

Albania 9.jpg

Did you know that The Treaty of London established the borders of Albania and recognized its independence in 1913?

Or that as a result of the Second World War, all bridges and factories were destroyed, and 7.3 percent of the population died or became permanently disabled, while the rest were on the verge of starvation?

Or that during Winston Churchill’s visit to Moscow in October 1944, when the English Prime Minister and Joseph Stalin were signing the agreement on the spheres of influence in the Balkans, Albania has not even been mentioned?

Albania 14.jpg

A couple of more facts that are interesting but not well-known: Albania boasts more than 3,250 species of plants, which accounts for 30 % of all flora in Europe.

Tirana, the capital of Albania, is one of the very few capitals in Europe without a McDonald’s.

Pyramid.jpg

And the last question: did you know that more Albanians live outside their country than within? We can meet plenty of Albanians mostly in countries like USA, Sweden, Switzerland, Germany, Italy, Turkey, Greece, Montenegro, Macedonia, and Kosovo. It is also how I met my Albanian friend. Obviously, not in Albania.

Thans for stopping by!

Sort:  

I didn't know any of this. Nada! My knowledge of the other side of the world is pretty bad. I get the countries mixed up. I don't know the differences in culture, peoples, etc.

Nice history lesson and photos!

I'm happy you find it useful :) Thank you, Dear.

I delivered humanitarian aid to Albanians at the Stenkovac refugee camp at the time when Milosevich drove them out of Kosovo back in 1999 I think it was. When they found out I'm a Bulgarian, these refugees turned hostile. I asked the interpreter why? Why did they turn so hostile when myself and the team with me were nothing but friendly and we had risked going into a war zone delivering to them aid?

The response was: because Bulgarians, Serbs and pretty much everyone else on the Balkans represents foreign invaders who have taken over Albanian (Ilyrian) territory!

I have met some decent Albanian Protestant Christians in the US but sadly here is what Albania is mostly known for:

Even The Mob Avoids the Albanians
Albanian crime gangs top list of most feared foreign gangsters
The Rise and Rise of Britain's Albanian Coke Dealers
Albania’s Largest Cocaine Seizure Points to New European Routes

I knew a couple of these only, Agi - the way the Albanians call their country, and that the language is quite different. But I didn't know that it's not similar to any other language. And it's hard to believe you can't get yourself a Big Mac in Tirana 😁

The Mercedes and the Pyramid shots are my favorite ones! :)

Your knowledge about Albania is still better than the knowledge of average reader of this post ;)

Thanks. I enjoyed the tour. I know very little about most of the world. Thanks for the help to educate, tho. :-))

I'm glad you enjoyed it. I promise to provide more lessons from all over the Europe :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61473.25
ETH 2969.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.48