Urbex Photography // Abandoned Hospital

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Untitled Design (2).jpg
Ever since I was a teenager I've been obsessed with urban exploration! I found out there was an abandoned mental asylum in the downtown area of my hometown when I was 14. I spent the day exploring the dilapidated hallways and it changed my life forever. Since that day I've been to countless locations with no goal in mind other than to explore and have a good time. I decided to document my journey this time because this location is the largest abandoned site in my state! I spent a majority of my time filming video, but I did stop to take some cool photos along the way.

Urbex Photo 1.jpg


Urbex Photo 3.jpg


Urbex Photo 5.jpg


Urbex Photo 7.jpg


Urbex Photo 6.jpg


Urbex Photo 17.jpg


-Urbex Photo 15.jpg


Urbex Photo 24.jpg

The hospital was called 'The Old Reid Memorial Hospital' and was in operation for 105 years. When it closed the city was in the midst of a financial crisis. This made it impossible to renovate the property. As time progressed the large property became not only an eyesore, but also an increasingly costly expense. That is why it sits in decay to this day. Rumors are being spread among my local urbex community that someone has purchased the property and plans to tear it down this summer. That's why I plan to make a few more trips out to that breathtaking building in the near future.

Urbex Photo 9.jpg


Urbex Photo 11.jpg


Urbex Photo 10.jpg


Urbex Photo 13.jpg


Urbex Photo 14.jpg


Urbex Photo 26.jpg


Urbex Photo Edited 2.jpg


Urbex Photo 20.jpg!


Urbex Photo 22.jpg


Urbex Photo 23.jpg


Urbex Photo 25.jpg


Urbex Photo Edited 1.jpg


Urbex Photo 27.jpg

Most of these are unedited because they were taken on my phone camera. The ones I did edit were also put on my Instagram page.

I hope you enjoyed!

Sort:  

Great post 👍 just followed you

Thank you so much! I really appreciate it.
I'm new here so I'm still figuring out how all this works, but I'm loving it so far!

This post has received a 25% upvote from spotlight thanks to: @resteemable.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

I've always been intrigued by urban exploration...so thanks for the pics and post!


Recent posts:
Evanna’s Story, Part 1

Evanna’s Story, Part 2

Why I've Committed to Steemit...

Upcoming New Podcast: Go Rogue!

Nice to meet you, Annabel :) A great place for a horror movie I guess ;) Where is that? Keep up.

I am into self-control, motivation, awareness and more in case you would like to visit my channel :) VALUE guaranteed

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.031
BTC 61745.50
ETH 2898.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61