Mattancherry Palace

in #photography5 years ago

On the last day of Kochi, I thought of taking it a little easy and spent my day doing a more slow paced travel. To avoid the sun as much as possible, I stepped out after noon and headed to the Mattancherry Palace. Before entering the palace I grabbed some delicious breakfast at a café and got some nice views of the pretty streets.

I did see a plenty of tourists who looked curious to buy some souvenirs despite the heat. I also saw some interesting sculptures representing the local life (as in the picture below).

1.jpeg

2.1.jpeg

2.jpeg

4.jpeg

I think the name of the Palace was pretty fascinating itself and I expected it to be a structure constructed by some ruler from Kochi but to my surprise it was actually constructed by the Portuguese in the year 1555!

It is called the Dutch Palace now because it was renovated by the Dutch after taking control from the Portuguese. It was actually given as a gift to the King of Kochi to compensate for the destruction of a temple nearby. The palace features both European and Kerali architectural styles.

15.JPG

The entrance fee was about 5-10 Rupees (I don't remember exactly) and it constitutes of a number of interesting things such as paintings depicting scenes from Ramayana and Mahabharata, dresses of the Kings, stamps, coins, weapons and much more.

5.JPG

The artworks below were painted (3D Paintings as they were being called) in such a way that they follow the eyes of a viewer and gives an illusion as if the subject's position has altered. I actually gave it 3 walks to test, confirm and reconfirm. The angle of the shoes, face and body and eyes moved from left to right as I walked in the same direction! How cool is that! It was a little freaky but super amazing too :)

I tried getting some shots of the detail of the clothing which in my opinion was just too pleasing to watch. The expressions, the dressing and even the composition of the large paintings were magnificent and probably the most impressive things for me.

7.jpg

9.JPG

10.JPG

11.jpeg

12.jpeg

13.JPG

14.JPG

16.JPG

I hit the beach by evening to catch the sunset and I am glad I did :) Although seeing waste materials on the beach did make me a little sad. I tried on some local food there and the weather had also cooled down by then making it pleasant enough.

IMG_4330.jpeg

IMG_4337.JPG

IMG_4339.JPG

IMG_4344.JPG

IMG_4427.JPG

IMG_4432.JPG

IMG_4436.JPG

Next in line was waking up early to catch the train to Allepey about which I will be writing in the next one. Till then, Cheers!


Keep Creating

Lots Of Love <3

Sort:  

I've been in cochin, nice place. thanks for sharing

Oh that's great :) You're welcome!

You got a 60.62% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @aishwarya! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 45 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64320.07
ETH 3154.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34