15 rolls in 15 days - Day 1 - Wandering Belgrade

in #photography6 years ago

This is my attempt to "simulate" shooting one roll of film each day for 15 days straight. I'm doing this challenge for a few reasons:

  • to go out more and practice photography every day
  • to work on my composition skills
  • to slow down and study each shot
  • recently I started loving the idea of film photography and the look of it

All the photos will most likely be taken with Fuji x100f which with its look and the ability to control the exposure with dials, reminds of the film cameras. I'm planning on buying one soon (Pentax k1000 or Canon AE-1) so hopefully the second attempt at this challenge will be the real experience. :) To simulate it this time, these are the guidelines I'll try to follow:

  • Max 36 exposures per day
  • Post at least 10 photos each day
  • Turn off LCD screen so not to review images

Hope you'll find it entertaining and follow along. :)

Day 1



See you in the next episode.

Sort:  

What an awesome idea!! I love these shots, they are so good, it's so hard to beat film!

Hey, I'm glad you liked the idea and the results! :)

Yes I can't wait to see more!

It's really great to challenge yourself! Hope you will soon be able to get into 'the real deal'. I'm preparing for 'the real deal' too, namely buying gear (most from kickstarter) that has yet to arrive, but in the end it will be the full package:

  • An analog cam (gift from a fellow Steemian)
  • Film (bought from Italy)
  • A compact DOKA so I can develop my rolls at home (crowdfunded, so still in development)
  • An app that will be able to scan negatives (crowdfunded, also still in development)

It's a process of months to get all this stuff, but is going to happen in 2018 :')

Good luck on your adventures! Curious to see what results you get under these guidelines.

Looks like we are on the similar path. :) What made you get into film photography?

Good luck with getting your equipment and super impressed that you are planning to develop your negatives at home! The whole process must be so fulfilling. :)

Yes, we definitely are! For me to want to go into analog is a years long itch: I just believe I will get more emotion in my future analog shots! Why? Because for me the unit with which I take pictures often decides what pictures I take! For example: more wide/street/landscape/documentary shots with my main camera, while more close/abstract/framed/reflection images with my phone.

I'm hoping for more human connection and creative impulses by going into analog, real double exposures for example and the true surprise of it all. I'm kind of bored by crispy / perfect shots that you can endlessly do-over because there's no limits to what your cam can do :-)

If I ever get all the equipment I'll share it of course! It will be an amazing adventure :D And yes, looking forward most to being able to develop at home! It's a nice I'd love to get to know :-)

So you are a romantic like myself. 😄 But indeed, with analog it's the whole process of creativity and making art. Digital can become too "easy" and stop challenging you. Nice example with the double exposures. I think taking a step back and going analog will help both of us to move forward. :) (BTW I'm only shooting seriously for about 8 months, so am still a noob when it comes to photography :D )

And it must be a lot of fun! I'll be watching out for your plunge into analog.

Ahhh only 8 months! You're a fast learner! That makes me even more excited for your analog experiments, they will rocket your growth :D Yes yes, thanks for this convo, even more excited to start now, hahaha!

You bought film from Italy, is it Ferrania film by any chance?

Hey! No, but I didn't even know Ferrania existed! That looks amazing! Thanks for the tip I am sure going to buy some of them too :-)

You did great! These photos are awesome.

The reflection off the river is gorgeous with those pinks and peach colors. Almost every photo has a reflection, was that your theme?

You need a #15rolls15days - this is YOUR time @acibiades . Best wishes to Day2!

(I won't be following this challenge because I am sick. I had a cold and now have bronchitis and am whipped. I was looking forward to it and had my week planned out as to where I was going to go. I can always begin on another day when I'm feeling better.)

Hey thanks! Yesterday was a beautiful sunny day and I had all the time in the world to find interesting stuff to photograph. Today on the other hand was tough, bad conditions and I didn't have much time to walk around. But I said min 10 photos each day so you'll get to see the failures from time to time .:D

Yeah, looks like yesterday was all about reflections and silhouettes. I didn't plan it though. :)

Great idea for a tag - unfortunately, I tried it and you can't start a tag with a number. Sucks.

Sorry to hear you're sick. I wish you get well very soon and, of course, you can start the challenge anytime. Looking forward to it.

Sounds like a good challenge.
Shooting millions of photos on digital isn't really the best practice.
Just means you've a ton of near identical looking photos cloggin up your hard drives.
How do you limit yourself to a number of frames?
Do you use a smaller memory card or just count them?

True, I don't have anything against digital, but I felt I was being lazy, taking bunch of shots and later picking the best ones. This is a really nice change of pace and should be a good introductory into film photography.

I just count the shots to avoid going over the limit. Smaller memory card sounds interesting, I'm not sure if it would work though. :)

Now I know what you meant when you replied to me "challenge", it's a good motivation. I might do it also in future.

I can see some struggles on some of the shots, which I understand since you can't review and you're limited with few number of shots. I legitimately enjoyed all of the photos.

The last one really struck me, it's awesome man!

It's a tough challenge especially for a beginner like me. :) But it gets me going and makes me study each shot carefully. Hopefully I'll learn from my mistakes and be a better photographer 13 days from now. I would definitely encourage you to try it out, better yet with the actual analog camera. :)

Glad you enjoyed the photos!

I do have a film camera that I haven't use for about 2 years now. This challenge will be a good motivation to use it :-) It will be daunting for sure, since it's totally different with my shooting attitude at the moment. lol

Right now, I'm shooting a lot of photos in 1 session and then discard about 80-90% of it. In analog, I don't I can do that. I will have to be mindful on every shot that I will take.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 00:12:08
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 94.27/100.00
Total Photos: 7
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 1
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

What a great way to challenge yourself and the pictures are amazing! Can't wait to see future posts. :)

I'm glad you liked the idea. :)

Nice shots! The colors are great and you have interesting perspectives.

I'm also a street photographer in Taipei. Check out my work and if you like it consider helping me get my name out there with a resteam!

I'd really like to break into the community here!

If I had to choose a favourite, I think it would be the last one. But I liked the first as well in a very different way. (They were all good!)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 66795.37
ETH 3087.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72