How to overcome fear of shooting street photography - SP journal #5 | 2+ Years on Steemit

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

2 days ago marked my 2 year anniversary on Steemit. I just wanted to thank everyone of you who made this the best time of my life. I got to know a lot of amazing people here whether through curating or sharing my personal stories. Still a long way to go for this platform, but I'm just happy to be a part of it. Now to today's topic.

For anyone who is starting in street photography this is probably the biggest challenge. Let's be honest, photographing total strangers on the streets can be intimidating and you never know how they'll react if they see you taking their photo. This fear often causes photographers to act sneaky, conceal their camera, "shoot from the heap" or without looking at the composition etc.

Here are a few tips that helped me along the way to feel more relaxed when out on the streets.

  • Smile - people will be more relaxed around you if give out a happy vibe and don't look threatening :)
  • Act like a tourist - Good advice regardless of street photography, but here it can especially help out. People are generally accustomed to tourists and their cameras so pretend to be one and "take" photos of everything
  • "Make a video" - just walk around and pretend as if you are making a video, while actually taking photos of things you find interesting
  • Go to more crowded places - you will stick out less when there's bunch of people around
  • Avoid eye contact - If you prefer interacting with your subjects then ignore this advice. However, if you just want to make the photo and leave the scene, it's best to avoid eye contact. If someone sees you taking a photo of them, you can either give them a thumbs up to let them know you are OK with them noticing you, or you can just move the camera pretending to photograph something else and just move on. :)
  • Use smaller camera with a silent shutter - If you point a big DSLR in someone's face, people may get scared. So get one of those smaller, mirrorless cameras with a leaf shutter or just use your phone.
  • Don't overstay your welcome - if you stay too long shooting a particular scene, it may start to annoy people. Know your settings beforehand so you are able to make couple of photos and leave.

That's it, those are my tips to ease your life if you like street photography. Let me know if you try it out. :) As always, here are some recent photos, hope you enjoy.



If you enjoyed the post, make sure to follow for more content like this.

Sort:  

Useful tips, I have always wanted a few pointers on how to start so thank you! And happy 2 year anniversary!!

Thank you! Good luck if you try these out. :)

Looks like you are getting better! Great job!

Thanks! I'm glad you think so. :)

Yes good advice. Also I have found that shooting video can be a great way to get cool stills, but the quality not as good of course but it has potential, especially for manipulating these kinds of images further. Manipulating the accidental like this can lead to great stuff and nice surprises.

I don't think I would shoot a video to extract images from it. Yeah, it might help capture some moments, but I like to wait for the decisive ones and time the shutter. It's more fun that way. I don't use continuos shooting mode for the same reason. Great if it works for you. :)

Really useful tips! I admit I have some problems to take pics total strangers on the streets, because the reasons you wrote, but I'll try to use your tips to contrast my fear to do it ^_^

Good luck if you try them out. :)

Incredible images! I really enjoyed the ones "through the windows" - there's magic in the way these images have been processed, and I simply love the colours, they've got an excellent, film-like quality to them.

Thanks! Yeah, those are very entertaining to capture and edit. Glad you enjoyed!

You really do it in an inspiring way. It's a real pleasure for me to watch your photos and be sure that I am not exaggerating. Regards.

I'm very happy to hear that! Thank you.

woow what Said here is very amazing and to be honest you are such a talented person to take all these nice photography. I got some positive vibes indeed.
Keep it up.

Congratulations @alcibiades! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

just ah perfect click!

Хорошая информация! Я последую вашему совету! А то иногда такое бывает, что кому-то не понравится.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61219.98
ETH 2927.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66