You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Discovering Crete - Part 3, The Monastery of Odigítrias I

in #photography6 years ago

I've never been there, yet. Although I have traveled a lot, there are a few places I have not visited. Crete is one of them.
The monastery has the usual atmosphere of an orthodox monastery, calm quiet and somehow still. I kind of envy them, as they have the time to really think things through, once, they were the real thinkers of the world. Solitude can clear your mind and a simple lifestyle focuses the mind for ways to improve the character.
Monks are very different to priests in my country too. Different lifestyles and different ways to connect to their inner beliefs.

The heat should be bearable but I guess it's too hot anyway. I would try to visit earlier in April or May.

Vote is for the kittens :D
Cheers!

Sort:  

Thank you for your comment @alexdory.

Indeed, deep thinking requires being undisturbed and not just for a day but for a long time. An impossibility in today's hectic life. There are many things that we withhold from ourselves through our lifestyle. Sad but true.

At least visiting places like this monastery can give us a sense for what we are missing.

And yes, I knew the kittens would be irresistible :D

Cheers!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63106.36
ETH 3262.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87