* My favourite pictures - Vol.1 (The lonely boat) *

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 2018-04-30 at 20.44.31.png

I'm not a professional photographer... actually I don't even have a proper DSLR camera for that matter. But I've always been intrigued and interested in photography. It started at an early age when there were no phones or digital cameras. My dad had an old Kodak camera.. one of those where you have to put a physical film roll and you can only take maximum about 32 photos from one roll. When we used to go on holidays we always brought that camera and I was quite fascinated how the photos were captured, stored and later developed. Back in those days.. there were no guarantees. Sometimes if we were lucky we could get all the photos intact, sometimes some of them would come out blurry, sometimes none of them would look good. It was a gamble every time. So, since then I had a interest.. more of a curiosity. I rarely got to use the camera and even when I did, would have to wait a long time to see how the photo turned out to be.

Fast forward few years and finally there were digital cameras. I remember getting our first digital camera. My brother had brought one to try which had 1.3 megapixel.. a lot for that time! I was completely blown away how you could immediately see the picture that was captured through the screen behind it. No waiting around this time. So, I had a chance to play around with that but never as much I would've liked to.

Later when I was a teenager, managed to get a mobile phone. It was the second phone that I got, had a camera.. and that changed a lot of things. It gave me the freedom to take pictures everywhere and whenever I wanted.

It was not until I got the Sony Cybershot phone.. I could actually take good pictures. Since then, I've had multiple smartphones and the camera keeps getting better. So, for me I love capturing moments, scenery, nature, art, gigs, something unusual, something that sparks my interest etc. And that has been the basis of my photography. I've never needed a proper professional DSLR camera. Everything I need to capture is more than enough from a smartphone and thats the one you have with you all the time.

So, I've taken a lot of photos over the years... probably like a lot of people. But quickly realised never had a chance to really sit down and actually look at it and appreciate the photos that I've taken. Hence, this is my effort to take a moment and identify which ones I like the most and post it with a little explanation why I like it.

The one above, is one of the few black and white photos I've taken which I quite like and I think there is some kind of beauty in simplicity and the whole vibe of less is more. When the colours fade away, you're left with the bare bones and you appreciate a picture in a different way. This picture was taken when I went for a walk while visiting my brother. It looked like a river that had drained a bit as it was winter and there was a boat in the middle of it with almost no water under it. While looking at this photo I realised the place of the boat is in the river, whether there is water or no water.. thats where it is meant to be. And even though it is lonely and dry right now, soon when the water starts filling in, it'll have lots of company and it will be going to places... which will be its high time.

If you've managed to read so far, thanks! Would love to know what you think about it :)

Photo was taken by Samsung Galaxy S6.

Sort:  

deae @allansheatha really great picture...& best photography

This comment has received a 0.29 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @tanisha786.

An engaging essay and an interesting photo.

Thanks.. appreciate it! :)

Hey,that is a great shot, especially with a phone camera! And a great story behind it. I remember getting photo's developed and getting excited as to what may come out or not come out haha or sometimes some double exposures which were pretty impressive all in their own too!

Haha... yup, those were the golden days. Funny how we take everything for granted now..

Aint that right! People should be more appreciative of what we have as it can all change in the blink of an eye ;-)

Definitely.. Look at you getting all philosophical now.. haha Nice one!

nice pix and lovely capture
nice post too

Awesome post! I love when photography posts have a great explanation to go with it.

Thanks mate! Glad you like it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62683.02
ETH 2962.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64