Jakarta Trip Part 1 of....

in #photography6 years ago

A few years ago I headed over to Malaysia to stay with my parents and while there it turned out that my freshman year roommate was going to be in Jakarta working on his doctorate, which focused on water purity. He asked if I want to travel there with him and help record his measurements. These are some pictures from that trip:

The mosquitoes here were abysmal, but it looked nice:

DSC00105.JPG

DSC00108.JPG

My friend is on the far right; the man sitting across from him is his main contact in Jakarta who was helping with the measurements; the group of girls had just finished school for the day and they come here to hang out and help with different projects.
DSC00112.JPG

I took this picture as my friend and I were BOTH on the back of a scooter being driven by a local; as we drove past someone a local on the street said something in bahasa and my friend laughed so I asked him and he said, "That man REALLY likes white people!"
DSC00120.JPG

And this is what my friend is trying to help combat:
DSC00125.JPG

More to come.....

Sort:  

Indonesia seems like a pretty great place to visit! For some reason it has always had a lot more attraction to me than visiting, for example, India.

it really depends. I think India and Indonesia are both very similar in that the distribution of wealth is truly a chasm. For instance, in the last photo pretty much right across the street are insanely nice and expensive malls. So it is something to experience. But, everywhere I have been in SE Asia the people are very friendly! Personally I would rather go to either Malaysia or Thailand (thailand is my favorite so far) over Indonesia. But they all have their upsides!

I assume you're in the US, correct?

No, no, we live closeby you and I, I believe. I'm from the Netherlands! So, like, almost German!

haha, this is funny! I'm in Ohio in the US!

Oh, darnit! I must have gotten you confused with one of the others..

Ooohhh so this is what you mentioned a while back. Lots of trash in the waters here, so maybe the Philippines could be a next destination and you could tag along haha! Being white really does make you stand out, unlike when you're brown in a white community. Unless everyone is super white and you're the only one that offsets them haha! I would blend right in if I was in Jakarta. People would mistake me as a local haha!

I would definitely love to go to t he Philippines! Yeah we definitely stood out, especially because most of the testing is done in the poorest of areas and so there re NO white people there in general.

Your blog has been great. Hopefully your trip has been colorful.

Did I know why my comment has been revealed?

looks like someone flagged you for posting spam comments

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63133.02
ETH 3043.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63