Let’s get dramatic...

in #photography5 years ago (edited)


I’m not really a fan of drama, except if it is in photography or other art forms. I like art that evokes an emotion, I mean I want it to make me feel something...and I think black and white photography has that ability.

I would categorize myself as a “feeler” I guess. I’ve taken the personally tests, and they seem to always point to me being a gentle and thoughtful soul.. with a fire inside, and sometimes my emotions rule me. Maybe that’s why art affects me so? I’m one of those that feels music too, and honestly if it can’t make me feel something, it’s useless to me.

I guess that can be said for anything in life though, I wanna feel something. I want to be inspired, challenged, touched and moved by life experiences. Maybe that’s why I like travel so much.. who knows, I’m rambling.

Back to black and white photography...

It’s so hard!! Ugh.. honestly as an amateur photographer I find that black and white photography breaks all the rules you learn. As the lighting needed seems to be the opposite you want for a color photo. But I’m trying. As photography is also one of those things that makes me feel something. It’s a passion of mine.

So here are some recent black and whites that I felt had a bit of that emotion I was looking for. Hopefully they evoke something within you as well...

![

What are some of your passions? What gives you the feels?

Xoxo 💋
Ananke




Photos of me, by me. #fuji

Sort:  

Lighting is different for black and white? I had no idea. Never thought about it tbh. It obviously has a different look and feeling. But I didn't realize it was also different to create. I thought it was just a camera or software setting.

Music?! Life would not be worth living without good music!! I am soooo with you there. Give me a good pair of speakers or earphones and lock me in a room, I will likely lose time so badly I'll forget to eat or sleep. 🙄 Done it! It feels a little irresponsible after, but so worth it.

YouTube is terrible! It should be classed as a drug. If I happen to get on a roll in what ever type of music I'm into at the time, I'll wind up noticing it's too late to go grab the planned takeout and then finally get to bed way later than I planned... Usually waaaay into the morning hours. (There is usually a nice bottle of something involved too. Not sure which leads to which... but they do seem to happen together quite often. 😂)

It usually starts if I happen to hit something that actually stirs me so much it makes my eyes water. I still don't know why I react that way. I have thought about it a lot. The best I have come up with is, it's got to be the body's reaction to something so intense it touches or tickles your soul. Your physical body just doesn't know how to react to that and that's just what it does. ? Still working on it. Either way, one of my favorite things in the world is stumbling across music THAT good. It doesn't happen often... but when it does, I have to go back and hear / feel that again!

Well in black and white you have to actually pay really close attention to shadows and where the light falls. In color it’s actually a nice effect (in my non professional opinion) to have a soft light or shadow fall on your subject, in fact I really love the look of that. In B/W where the light falls will be where the eye is drawn, so you have to ensure the subject itself is well lit etc. That’s probably a horrible explanation of it but that’s what I’ve got 😂

Pretty much you need to be thinking of black and white when you are shooting, not just adding it as an after thought in editing.

And I’m with you on music.. I can get lost in music, and my favorite is when it pulls at your soul. 😍

Sounds like a reasonable explanation to me! You really seem to be figuring this stuff out.

I still prefer colour. But the black and white is so different in feeling, it is interesting to experience that once in a while too. You are keeping it interesting. I like it!

I can't believe you are posting and answering comments on a Saturday night in the summer! I assumed you'd be out on a patio somewhere and answer your comments tomorrow.
Hint - don't take that shit from me, I'm here at the computer too! I just noticed and had to give you a poke. 😂

Haha! Well I am outside on my patio, with wine “answering questions”... is that better? Plus I thought this was the Steemit channel? Way more enjoyable than other stuff 😘

And yes .. do no harm, but take no shit is another good phrase. So why the hell are you on your computer?? poke

Yes! Way better! 😎
The Steemit channel is becoming a 'thing'. 😂 I'm glad you are enjoying it so much. (As I am. ☺)

do no harm, but take no shit

I like that!

I am going to be real here. I have no life! 😂
Maybe one day we'll cover more personal reasons.
The 'public friendly' general version is - I'm not a big noise and crowd person. I really do prefer to stay home in quiet and do my own thing on the computer. I go out once in a while but not often.

I also live in a very corporate 'head office' type University town. Most of the patio or bar type options around here seem to be more suited to students or older people. Like under 25 and rowdy or over 60 and boring! I'm neither! In fairness to my area, I have not really tried to hard to find a spot for me out there. So I don't blame them too much. But I'm obviously not in either popular demographic either!

Here, for example sake, is one of my favorite recent shots -

35AB549281C242CF9F7938D06A0F71F0.jpeg

And when just editing to black and white -

3D906768F0A440C187AF7F8003AC59BE.jpeg

You sort of lose your subject, it’s no longer where your eyes are drawn. Now of course some shots just work as the lighting works in both cases, but generally I find you loose the whole feel of a shot unless you had B/W in mind at the time.

Your legs, flowers and even the wall behind absolutely stand out so much stronger in colour! The desk and chair seem to become just as important in black and white. That is amazing!
The way the mind processes things messes my noodle. It's so fun to play with!

I find it pretty fascinating how the mind works ☺️

And yes I think the shot above is way better in color.. but sometimes certain shots just work better in B/W too. Very fun to play with indeed.

Legs become the focus in B+W, the flowers disappear!

Congratulations @ananke! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 comments. Your next target is to reach 100 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61361.03
ETH 2932.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67