Summer solstice sunset

in #photography6 years ago

sunset7.jpg

Spending time in nature is one of my favourite parts of life - looking at/listening to/feeling the presense of the birds, the bees, the trees, the flowers, the wind, the water, the people is wonderful; it makes me feel connected to everything around me and presents an opportunity to reflect upon life, the universe, and everything.

Yesterday was the summer solstice in the Northern Hemisphere. This is the mid-point of the year - the longest day, the most yang day. There are so many rituals and traditions that are celebrated this day all around the world: from fire dances to prayers, from sunbathing to quiet reflection.

My ritual is to go to a body of water at sunset to reflect on the first half of the year, let go of things I've been holding on to in order to make room for newer and better things, be grateful for the life I live, hope and pray for those less fortunate and in strife, meditate on abundance, and manifest an even better reality for myself, my loved ones, humanity, and our planet.

This is Lake Wilcox in Oak Ridges, Ontario - it's close to home and even though it's a busy place, it's a place where I can find my ground beneath my feet again. Happy summer everyone!

sunset1.jpg

sunset5.jpg

Sort:  

Wow! beautiful landscapes. I love them all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61562.85
ETH 2891.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.43