Leaf Hopper

in #photography5 years ago

I was very surprised when I saw this little red and green insect.
ln my many years of gardening this is my first time seeing a leafhopper.
🍃🍃
20190909_192256.jpg
I spent a little time last evening doing some research. I was so hoping it wasn't harmful to plants but that was my wishful thinking.
🍃🍃
20190909_193305.jpg
I've been assuming right along that it has been Aphids doing most of the leaf damage but it appears there is another culprit.
🍃🍃
20190910_065327.jpg
Above photo is daddy-long-legs spider I saw as well .They are a beneficial insect. They eat aphids,leafhoppers and other garden pest.
:D

Photos taken by
@annephilbrick
🍃🍃

Sort:  

It's too bad the leafhoppers are pests. They're so pretty! You got wonderful shots of them!

😊
@goat-girlz
Thank You !
They are colorful. I was surprised when I saw it. I'd heard of leafhoppers before but just hadn't see one.

Great photos! I'm not sure I have ever seen a leaf hopper either, but I'll remember them now!

😊
Thank You !!
@melinda010100
They are very small. You have to really really look close. I'm pretty sure I wouldn't have seen it if it was for the red on it.
:D

I guessed that they must be small if a daddy-long-legs can eat them!

The candy striper leaf hopper.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64058.80
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99