Photo journal: A day in my life

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

I finally decided to ignore my self-doubts about photography and went out and bought a Canon EOS Rebel T6. "What's the point in taking pictures when I will never be as good as [insert name]" has been the lame excuse for years.

541_canon_1300d_usb.jpg

Swallowing my pride, I signed up for the Udemy photography course https://www.udemy.com/photography-masterclass-your-complete-guide-to-photography/learn/v4/overview. Which, by the way is on sale from $205.00 CAD to $14.99.

My first assignment was to take photos focusing on the exposure triangle (shutter speed, ISO, aperture). I chose to practice at the music studio I work at. I figured I might as well capture the kids I love working with. It was the best environment to practice in, because I had the challenge of changing my settings from room to room and adjusting the shutter speed to get moving kids. I learned in the class not to put the ISO higher than 1600. I was having trouble in the dim light so I cranked it up to 3200 ISO. It looked fine until I put them on my computer. Live and learn. I really enjoyed capturing these kids. Their focus, determination, and joy is so evident and reminded me of why I love my job.

So here is a "photo journal: a day in my life," or my first class assignment. Take your pick.

Dance class

xy2Vu1CzSZ6Kf2YqcqXypA_thumb_1b.jpg

One of my piano students

NZnFBiFjQbucijDH70wxVQ_thumb_16.jpg

Another one

NP+aLSs8RvSmQ3zBi3o4gA_thumb_7.jpg

Group time

EL38CIIqSTKBHdoNqxRrSA_thumb_6.jpg

Dedication

XVRDpmGKRMCKt7s8XY1Y7Q_thumb_2.jpg

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_15.jpg

Success

UNADJUSTEDRAW_thumb_5.jpg

Sort:  

Great photos! You've really captured the joy in the kids eyes :)

That's a very nice Canon camera. It takes great high quality photo's

thumb01

si es una marca muy buena yo tengo una Sony y la adoro....jejeej

Wow! Udemy is really molding out genius and people with good photography skills.
Good to know you're doing and learning a lot about photography.
I can't wait to start seeing more of your wonderful and breathtaking pictures.

I wish you success in your endeavours.

Thanks for sharing

Thank you! I highly recommend the Udemy photography course to anyone who is looking to learn all the basics. I will continue to share what I have been learning.

OMG! This is SUCH an AMAZING post! Thank you for sharing! I give you a vote !!

Great job! Such sweet faces. Learning manual photography is not easy but you're doing great! The only way to get really good at it is to shoot shoot shoot! Good luck!

Thank you! I am really enjoying the challenge of manual photography. That is great advice. :)

I was just reading the reviews about this camera, and found that the T6 powers on, confirms focus, and captures an image in about 0.4-second, a fine mark for an entry-level SLR. And in bright light its 9-point autofocus system locks onto subjects and fires in about 0.13-second—not the fastest out there, but not slow either.

But in dim conditions the focus speed slows to 1.4 seconds when using the optical viewfinder, which is terrible for an SLR—the D3400 focuses in 0.5-second in the same conditions.

Nice pictures @annester. Kids are enjoying your company too.

Good information. Yes, I was faced with the challenge of shooting moving kids in dim rooms. It was difficult to find the balance between focusing and finding enough life. Practice, practice, practice. As a newbie, it may be easier to start outside.

Congrats on being brave enought to make an investment in passion. And don't forger something my father once told me "There will be always someone better than you", so, don't make this thing stop you from self improvement.

That is a good quote. Thank you for sharing!

It's great to see where you work @annester! Thanks for sharing.

Please post more! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63877.55
ETH 3143.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97