Moon Spires. Another one of my father's photography images.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #photography7 years ago

#13  moon spires 4x6 web.jpg

So.. I made a post the other day trying to introduce my fathers photography to steemit and that I was trying to show him how steemit works and inspire his support. But.. The post made like less than $2.. And he makes more than that every single time he sells a 4x6 notecard in town.. So.. It's really difficult to inspire him to join when the welcome was so poor.

There were a few nice comments, which is appreciated. But, I don't think my father is going to be signing up with a welcome like that. I already mentioned that there was a good chance he wouldn't because he has muscular dystrophy and it's hard for him to type or use certain muscles for too long because of his disease.. But.. You know.. If there was a really good welcome for my father who is like literally a legendary photography who has got some of the most amazing pictures I've ever seen.. Who knows.. Maybe he would have been much more open to signing up himself and being a part of the community.

But oh well. It is what it is. I still plan on sharing his images because he gave me permission, so. Here's another one of my favorite images of his. Moon Spires, filmed on a 6x7 Pentax in Sedona Arizona, the mountain is Cathedral, it's a REAL moon shot, not a double exposure.. He waited until it lined up and then got really far back with a zoom lens.

Unfortunately because of his disease and age he can no longer go out and film like that and hike to get a spot.. If anything he basically has to film right next to the car and stay on the roads. It's sad.. Though, on the other hand some people get dealt a lot worse cards in life.. At least he can still walk and get around. Many can't.

This image is hanging in many houses and buildings all over the world and has sold to countless people. I'm hesitant to guess just how many people have bought one of these cards over the years.. But.. It's probably a LOT, plus all the people who didn't even buy it cause they didn't have the money or bought diff ones instead or whatever.. But just saw it in one of the stores we sell at and appreciated it. I think something like 5 million people come through Sedona every year.. So.. This image has probably been appreciated by a lot of people.

Including myself. This is one of my favorite images of his, and I hope to get one like this some day as well. Cheers! I hope you enjoy. :)

Sort:  

Beautiful! Thanks

You're welcome. :) Thanks for appreciating!

Sorry about your father illness thank you for sharing that Beautiful photo

Thanks for your condolences in regards to my father, and you're welcome for sharing the image.

Awesome! May I know what camera are you using? Great photo!

Thanks, it's not my actual picture it's my fathers. He was using a Pentax 6x7.

Very special picture. Following you now.

Thanks! I'll definitely be sharing more nature pictures of both my own and my father's in the future. :)

It is a beautiful picture.
I'm following you.

But I'm terribly sorry Boting power is not sufficient.
Next time I will vote your post!

Thanks for the follow and the nice comment! No worries about the voting power, it is what it is.

This is beautiful man. Was photography his profession?

Glad to hear you liked it. And to answer your question, yes.. But it also still is his profession.. He just doesn't get out to take new shots very often anymore, though he has quite a large collection from over the years and many he hasn't even scanned yet! I'm also hoping to get him a drone some day, so he could just like sit somewhere and fly a drone around to film. :) I think that'd be awesome. Just not wealthy enough at this point.

Ahhh okay, well that's awesome nonetheless! You should definitely keep uploading his photos. And yes! A drone seems like it would be perfect for your dad. If he could get these from the ground I can only imagine what'd he create with a drone

That image is incredible! How cool that your father's photography is famous and beloved worldwide.

Glad to hear you liked it! And yeah it is super cool. :) Hopefully some day my photography will be similar!

Wow!

Beautiful landscape. Beautiful photo

Thanks for the comment and for appreciating!

Your father is an amazing photographer, this image is just beyond words. I'm going to resteem this post to try and get more exposure for you!

Glad to hear you liked it and.. Thanks for the nice compliment about my father. :) And also for the resteem and everything! That's nice of you.

You're welcome :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66367.17
ETH 3007.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71