30 Day Black and White Photo Challenge Day 3

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Only on day 3 but I'm really enjoying this photo challenge!

Last year I was nominated for the 7 Day Black and White Photo Challenge two or three times. I found that challenge a bit on the difficult side- each day you were supposed to capture an image that represented you yet couldn't use human subjects. So no selfies, kids or crowds.

I wandered around my house each day for over an hour, room to room and back again. I emptied boxes, scrutinized drawer contents, and experienced profound moments of deep introspection: Does this collection of items really represent me as an individual?

How is it possible that finding non-human items that represent you would prove to be so difficult?! It's not because I'm not self aware. Could it be because my three teen boys take up a large portion of my life? They occupy most of my awareness? The first 7 day challenge made me realize I really don't have or do much that's just me. Boys are definitely all encompassing in every facet of ones existence! But I wouldn't trade them for anything <3

As I suppose is the case with almost everything it became easier over time. A couple days after the end of the first challenge I was nominated again. And I all happy to report I didn't take near as long each day to find a representative subject!

The thirty day black and white photo challenge isn't limited to personally meaningful representations. However, photography, especially black and white photography, brings the subject in my focus close to my heart.

I've always loved photography, especially back and white. I feel it captures the raw essence of the subject, allowing the truth to show through.

Captured with my Samsung Galaxy S6 Active, this rose bush is growing wild and untamed in western Washington State.

This is my entry for the contest hosted by @juliank & @photocontests.

I appreciate your support :)







If you find this article after day 7, please consider upvoting a recent article.


Sort:  

lovely write @arbitrarykitten
thank you for sharing
resteem

Much appreciated <3

Black and white photos help you see the story and what’s pictured on the photo since your eye is not distracted by colors.
Nice post. Keep sharing. :💟

Exactly!

Thank you, I'm happy you enjoyed it :)

Just Awesome post👌👌👌👌😍😍

beautiful flower 🌷
with a black and white atmosphere ,, success always..

Thank you kindly :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64455.55
ETH 3147.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94