La Bocana, Santo Tomas and Ensenada

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

IMG_8408-2.jpg

I recently visited a little beach town in Mexico near Ensenada, Baja California. The first time I visited this place was when I was little, and what I found most striking (other than the fear of falling off a cliff) were these "crystal-like" flowers that grew all over the mountains and completely covered them from top to bottom. That's the memory I kept for decades until about two years ago when my parents took the whole family back there again. The first thing I looked for? You guessed right! The "crystal flowers" (picture below)

_MG_7384.jpg

I spent the last couple of weeks taking photos of the place and working on them, so that I could show them to you. I realize now I took too many (always my problem), therefore I will have to make several posts to be able to share most of them without making the longest post ever to be posted here ;)

I decided to make four categories: 1. La Bocana, Santo Tomas and Ensenada architecture. 2. La Bocana Fauna and flora. 3. Ensenada and La Bocana beach and finally number 5. The people of the area I had the pleasure of meeting.

I will start with Ensenada and La Bocana beach to share some of that much needed coolness and ocean breeze. The temperature there was in the 80's (Fahrenheit's) which is perfect and there was almost always overcast. The water was a bit cold but even us (we currently live in the desert with temperatures high enough to roast you medium well) could go in and enjoy the waves.

Enough of the blabbering, here are the photos...

IMG_8135-3.jpg
La Bocana, we had to travel for a couple of hours on a dirt road and over treacherous mountains to get to the beach you see on these two photos.
IMG_8137.jpg

_MG_7726-2.jpg
Diving for sea urchins is the main source of income for the fisherman in La Bocana.

_MG_7328-3.jpg
The boats would be anchored and look as if abandoned in the middle of the ocean while the fisherman dive for the sea urchins.

_MG_7727.jpg
Sea urchins feed on the seaweed, that's why you see the fisherman diving in areas with large amounts of seaweed.

_MG_7475-3.jpg
There are so many rocks on the beach they clump together with the sand and make these gorgeous rock walls.

_MG_7395.jpg
Can I be corny and say that this beach rocks? ;)

IMG_7278.jpg
The waves are very strong and make the rocks polish each other with every swell. I found some beautiful rocks on the beach that looked almost like gems, and some perfectly round ones which I called eggs of course.

_MG_7417.jpg
I will let you guess what these rocks are covered with x)

_MG_7748-2.jpg
Passing fishing boat.

IMG_7205.jpg
Beautiful rock formations.
IMG_7244.jpg

IMG_7186-4.jpg
I can almost see a unicorn coming from these cotton candy clouds ;)
IMG_7185-5.jpg

_MG_7935-3.jpg
There is a nice little pond that forms from rain coming down the mountain. Unfortunately, the area has been experiencing a two year long drought and the pond has since gotten smaller.

_MG_7946-2.jpg

_MG_7921-2.jpg

IMG_8119.jpg
The drought has also affected the amount of greenery that used to covered the mountains that surround the place.

IMG_7110-2.jpg
There used to be so much more greenery, but it's still much greener than what I'm used to now, so it's still great for us ;)
IMG_8406.jpg

IMG_7184.jpg
See? I wasn't lying about the ridiculous amount of photos I took of the place. I sure hope you like these photos and the horrid narration that accompanies them. Thank you so much for taking the time to check out my posts, I truly appreciate it (even more so if you comment ;)

IMG_8403.jpg

Sort:  

Hi arosebunch,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

I’m a declared @curie groupie ❤️ THANK YOU 🙏🏼

Congratulations @arosebunch! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:
SteemitBoard World Cup Contest - Semi Finals - Day 1


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Thank you 🙏🏼☺️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00