'Macro photography' - trending technique!

in #photography6 years ago

IMG_1655.JPG
So I've noticed there's a new 'trend' in taking macro photography. I've seen it here on steem, as well as other blogs! It's a neat way to do it, but it doesn't necessarily take quality photos. However, after post-editing, the pictures can turn out extraordinary if you have a steady hand. While I wouldn't use this for professional work, it's certainly fun and eye-catching.

Let me tell you how it works, then I'll add a couple more here that I did of a few flowers and a doll's eye I repainted (you'll see more of her in another post). Of course, this requires you to have some sort of DSLR with a removable lens. I haven't tried it with different types of lenses, only my stock 18-55mm lens. What you do is you take off your lens, leaving just the body. -Then- you turn your lens completely around and have the 'back end' facing the subject. So holding your lens up to the body backward, hold your hands steady and take some shots! What happens is the camera super zooms in on your subject, giving you incredible macro detailing. As you can see, most of your shots will come out blurry, but if you have a steady hand and a program to post-edit on, you can make some really neat shots. I used Digital Photo Professional 4 to edit my RAWs here.

A dandelion:
IMG_1667.JPG

A grape hyacinth:
IMG_1665.JPG

Lastly, my repainted doll's eye (it turned out the best, as it was immovable by the wind). You can even see the glue line where a lash used to be!:
IMG_1658.JPG

Sort:  

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 67280.14
ETH 3764.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57