Japanese Tree Peony

in #photography5 years ago

Japanese Tree Peony.jpg

This is a picture of a purple Japanese Tree Peony. They are deciduous woody shrubs that flower in mid to late spring. A mature shrub will bloom for about two weeks and have many 8-10" flowers. It grows to be 2 to 3 feet high and about 3-5 feet wide.

My grandfather used to have these in his garden, but I took this photo one spring day at my brothers home in Utah. As I approached the front door the blooming flower was staring at me. It was a warm welcome indeed. I love how bright, yet soft the purple is and how vibrant and strong the leaves appear. It was taken with my iphone 4s.

Don't forget to drop a comment or two about any photographs you like. I appreciate the interest. Enjoy your Sunday everyone!

Cheers,

atalaya :)

(all photographs are original work by me)

Sort:  

Thank you! It is one of my favorites.

Stunning photography @atalaya This is such a beautiful flower.

This post was chosen to be voted by THEUNION.
theunion.png

Congratulations @atalaya! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57