San Diego Harbor Cruise Final

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

USSMidway.jpg

This is the USS Midway Aircraft Carrier. It was my favorite of all the ships we saw. It is larger than I can picture here. They offer tours of the Midway and I would love to see the inside of this massive, historical vessel. My grandfather served in the U.S. Navy and I can just imagine him on one of these. I've heard all of his stories and I am sure they would come to life if I toured a similar vessel to the one he was stationed on.

USSMidway2.jpg
(You can see the military aircrafts on the top deck)

A little history for you about the USS Midway.

USS Midway (CVB/CVA/CV-41) is an aircraft carrier, formerly of the United States Navy, the lead ship of her class. Commissioned a week after the end of World War II, Midway was the largest ship in the world until 1955, as well as the first U.S. aircraft carrier too big to transit the Panama Canal. She operated for 47 years, during which time she saw action in the Vietnam War and served as the Persian Gulf flagship in 1991's Operation Desert Storm. Decommissioned in 1992, she is now a museum ship at the USS Midway Museum, in San Diego, California, and the only remaining U.S. aircraft carrier commissioned right after World War II ended that was not an Essex-class aircraft carrier.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/USS_Midway_(CV-41)

USSMidway4.jpg

This is a view of the mast along with another aircraft carrier in front. I wouldn't want to be up there during a thunderstorm on the sea!

SDHC12.jpg

The photograph above is of the military hospital and it is in service. The red cross on this vessel makes it easy to spot and identify.

SDHC14.jpg

I'm not sure why I laughed when I saw this ship. Likely, because it is a bit crazy to actually see the ship that brings in many of the products seen in the U.S. stores. The tour guide informed us that the Dole ships containers had been unloaded. He could tell by the way the bottom of the vessel was up out of the water. He said when it is full you can't see the red part on the bottom.

All of the containers are refrigerated so that they products are kept fresh and don't spoil. I am not sure I would classify them as "fresh" considering the time it takes to get from where they are grown, packaged, shipped and into the stores. I prefer to get my food a bit closer to the source. I know I can't get everything I want locally, so I am happy for ships like these.

SDHC15.jpg

These may or may not be some kind of military vessels as well. Unfortunately, I don't have any information on them. I do like the name of the first one pictured though, Gutsy Lady. I know there must be a story behind that name and I wish I knew it. What would you name a ship or boat if you had one?

SDHC17.jpg

As you can see this is a submarine. It might be hard to see in the picture, but it is quite old and rusted. It is not in service anymore.

SDHCSeaLions.jpg

Luckily, old military ships weren't the only thing seen on the harbor cruise. We were fortunate enough to have a sea lion sighting. Don't they look like they enjoy life?

There you have it the San Diego Harbor Cruise. Free the week of your birthday. I highly recommend it if you're in the area!

Cheers,

@atalaya :)

Sort:  

Good post. The USS Midway is a beautiful ship! I hope to one day see the museum :D

Thank you! It is a beautiful ship with a ton of history! I think a museum trip would be worth the cost.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60682.45
ETH 2903.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.54