What You Lookin' At? The Homeless. Sydney Street Photography Series #1

in #photography5 years ago

0053.jpg

Stafford was a homeless man who approached me at the bus stop outside North Sydney Station one day and asked me for a cigarette (before you wonder, I don't smoke anymore!). I handed him a couple of smokes, and we sat together for a brief time at the bus stop smoking and chatting. Stafford asked me to take his photo, nodding at the big camera around my neck. I often carry around an SLR camera.

Talking to Stafford was awkward. He seemed to be a nice man, but he'd go off on these tangents, chattering away, without waiting for a response. It's as though he'd forget you were there when he was talking.

0054.jpg

Stafford had been on the streets for a while. He used to have money. He used to be an architect before life took a downward turn, pushing him to live on the streets. At night he'd camp around Hyde Park, but not always. There was no fixed sleeping place for him.

That was some time ago. I often wonder what became of Stafford. He wasn't young. He might have found a boarding house. He might have found old relatives to take him in. He might be dead.

These photos were taken with Ilford HP5 black and white film and an old Canon EOS. Old school, with all the grain. Hand developed with an enlarger and chemicals. It's a dying art.

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @awmobbs! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 50 comments. Your next target is to reach 100 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

It's amazing how life can just turn upside down for any of us, isn't it? I think you really captured Stafford well, he's fascinating but I also find myself a little intimidated by these portraits of his that you presented here...

I hope he has found a shelter of some sort.... Being homeless is hard as it is, let alone at his age....

I know - life can change so quickly. It can change in a moment!

I have no idea where he is, but he sure did make an impression on me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60953.94
ETH 2920.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57