Canon 80D: My First DSLR

in #photography5 years ago

Last week my parents really surprised me and got me an early graduation present.

The Canon 80D Video Creator Kit


I've shot photos before but mainly with a point and shoot. My dad has been doing photography for over a year now and uses a Nikon D7200 with numerous lenses. When I was home for Winter break, I got bored one day and decided I wanted to try his camera and take some outfit pics.

That's what I used in this post with a 50mm lens

I loved it. So much room for customizing settings, increases sharpness and self-timers to take multiple shots in different positions. I'm all about personal self image and feeling good about yourself, so if I can take pictures of myself in outfits that I enjoy, then I'm happy.

I showed my parents the pics when they got home and they could see how happy I was. I mention this because for months I've been depressed with panic attacks becoming more frequent, so they were happy to see me doing something and getting a lot of excitement out of it.

So I talk to them about wanting one for myself because I love doing candid shots of people and car photography. I did research daily on cameras for at least two weeks. When they came to visit me for my birthday a few weeks ago, we went to a camera store near the city just to look around and talk to some professionals about their recommendations. I'd like to point out Biggs Camera in Charlotte is amazing. We went in and I explained to the associate that I'm looking to get into photography and wanted some recommendations. Since I told him I've been using a Nikon D7200 recently, he didn't recommend a beginner level camera. Instead, he recommended the new Nikon D7500 or the Canon 80D. Since I was interested in doing slight video like rolling shots of cars, the Canon would be much better due to the dual pixel auto focus. He even let me test out both cameras in the store so I could navigate settings and test shots. So we leave and for the next week I look into the 80D and learn more about what would be a good setup for what I want. I come across the Video Creator Kit that comes with the 80D, 18-135 lens, Rode mic and power zoom adapter.
That's it. That's everything I need to get the shots I want. I show my parents and they said that could be my graduation present. So my dad really makes sure that's the one I want and orders it for me. What I didn't know is that it would be an EARLY present because he sent it to my apartment. He knew that since I'd be doing car photography and candid shots, I'd get a lot of use out of it this semester.

I was so excited because this would give me a lot to do during the weekends now and a reason to explore the city.

It's a really solid camera and takes great shots

Now it wasn't long until I started buying more for this camera. I've already bought a second battery and a 50mm lens for better low-light and sharper close ups.

This is a fantastic lens
The clarity from this blows me away

So get ready for a lot of photographs on my page!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69774.83
ETH 3620.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72