My Strange Hobby

in #photography6 years ago

I recently had a conversation with my wife about how I feel like I am a rarity in tech and don't fit into the typical cliche or stereotype of a developer. And then she brought up my hobby which she called "strange".

I collect speciality Australian $2 coins

In Australia, the mint releases these nicely designed $2 coins, with designs commemorating events or dates and they're usually in the form of a limited run.

I don't remember when I started doing it, but I think it started when I spotted a unique looking $2 coin in a handful of change I got from the shop one day and decided to keep it. Have you ever seen a nice coin and decided to keep it? That's how it works.

I never seek out the coins, just whenever I get change (when I am not using a card) I look and see if I got anything unique like a lucky dip or opening up a packet of Pokemon cards looking for a rare card. This is why my collection is small, but it's organically grown.

I have been collecting $2 coins for maybe one and a half years now, possibly almost two. Pardon the low-quality images, the lighting wasn't too great when I took them.

IMG_0001.JPG

As you can see my collection is small, comprised of just seven coins at the moment. However, just yesterday I bought a $2 coin I've been after for a while now and haven't encountered, which will take the number up to eight.

2018C2a_1024x.jpg

I took this image from here the real coin looks similar, this is a stylistic representation of it. This will undoubtedly become my favourite coin when it arrives, but until it does, my favourite coin at the moment is the one below:

IMG_0003.JPG

To commemorate the 2018 Gold Coast Commonwealth Games, they released these limited edition circulated coins with a gradient design in the middle. I think they released three and I have two of them. I am hopeful that I get the third one soon before they disappear.

Do you have any weird hobbies? Tell me in the comments.

Sort:  

These are some really pretty coins. Definitely a hobby I would start if I had the chance. I currently have two newly found hobbies that I have taken up here in Japan - 1. I collect stamps from the temples that I visit here in Japan and 2. I do drain-spotting whenever I go venturing. The drains here in Japan are similar to these coins somewhat...they have pictures and are coloured. Maybe sometime in the future I will start posting about these two hobbies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64006.33
ETH 3077.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87