Spending Mother's Day With My Son and Wife

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Today was Mothers Day here in Australia and I spent the whole day looking after our son and having a lovely day at the beach. I also paid a visit to my mothers grave at the cemetery (she passed away a few years ago) and we like to stop by with some flowers for her.

After looking after my high-energy three-year-old son for the entire day so my wife could get some downtime, I have a lot of respect for what she does daily because she is a stay at home mum and he is a lot of work. I am feeling exhausted as I write this. I don't know how my wife does it.

Here are a couple of photos I snapped of my son playing with his trucks on the beach.

20180513_122952.jpg

20180513_122612.jpg

I didn't really think that far ahead, it has been quite cold here lately, so I assumed we wouldn't be swimming. But, it was pretty damn hot and my son couldn't resist going into the water, so his clothes got pretty dirty and wet.

20180513_124639.jpg

He kept referring to the water as a construction site and pushing his bulldozer through the water and saying "how hard" it was working on the job site.

20180513_123102-ANIMATION.gif

And because this is the internet and my internet credibility is very important to me, I had to create a Gif to go along with this post.

20180513_122359.jpg

And here is all three of us on the beach. As you can see, I wasn't very prepared for a beach kind of day either. I had long chino pants on and brown leather boots, so I got pretty muddy and wet as well (thanks to my son).

I think my wife was pretty grateful, she spent about 95% of the time sitting on a camp chair in the shade reading a book on her Kindle and drinking wine, while I slogged it out in the sun. I did manage to get a beer into me before my son ran off to the playground.

Happy Mother's Day to all of the mums out there, what you do isn't easy. I am exhausted and I only had to look after him for one day, my wife does this every day.

Sort:  

This is beautiful. It is nice that you took charge today and it would be even nicer if you did this for her every chance you get because as you said, it isn't an easy task. Thanks for the mother's day wish.

Absolutely and I do try and help out where I can, I work full-time and then work during the evenings. But I still try and help out where I can and on the weekends I take the role of weekend dad very seriously, haha.

That is very nice to know. I wish we had more husbands and fathers who would do this. I understand that their main aim is to provide but money doesn't raise nor keep a family together and there are lessons that children learn from the interest and example shown by their dads as well as the lack thereof. Keep up the good work.

cute little baby .

this is so nice of you , lovely family and I believe your wife really appreciate that .
Happy mother's day to her and to every mom out there.

That looks an awful lot like Henley Beach here in Adelaide :)

This is a little place called Shorncliffe here in Queensland. It's a little sea-side town with a pier and expensive homes overlooking the water, the only downside is that it is quite popular and hard to find a park.

Ah don't wait til next year to treat her again ;) xxx

That’s nice @beggars - I think it’s cool for us parents to have a go at swapping roles every now and then. It helps us appreciate each other :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94