Behind the Scenes : Back to Shool Photoshoot for a Cause

in #photography7 years ago (edited)

We live in an increasing visually driven world. The internet is full of ravishing and incredible photographs. A great picture can be the marker that draws someone’s attention, but do you ever stop and wonder just what went into that perfect shot? Although digital work plays an important part, it sometimes takes unimaginable effort to make a single beauty shot. Equipment, setting and technique are the only tools that help to capture the magic. What signifies is the physical hard work and emotional content that lays behind a portrait.

image.jpg

Many organizations around the world have blossomed because photographers are identifying ways in which they can give back to the community simply by using their talents; those organizations thrive because of the generous individuals in their profession and their desire to help those in need.

Two years ago, I had the honor to participate in a photoshoot for a cause. The main goal of the program is to raise funds for the elementary pupils of Barangay Agsungot, Cebu City. I was contacted by a local photographer, asking if I could be the subject of a project he wanted to create, in collaboration with Cebu Photographers and Hobbyists. Without hesitation, I accepted the offer. At the back of my mind, I love to do something with a purpose beyond just trying out stuff or modelling random things, with an outcome which could help someone else and tell a meaningful story. I am trying to conscientise the society that beauty should not come from outward adornment, that true beauty comes from the heart.

image.jpg

People make photographs for a variety of reasons. For some, photography is a profession; while for others, it's just a hobby. Photography has the power to move people, and this organization- Cebu Photographers and Hobbyists, offers unique opportunities for photographers at every level to use their skills and passion in the name of good. It is also their hope to inspire us to use our cameras for the betterment of the world. In this event, participating shooters are required to register. All participants must also pay the shoot fee upon registration.

image.jpg

This is a reminder of how much good can be enacted by simply words of interaction and a press of the shutter button. These amazing people were so talented and I couldn’t have asked for a better team to be part of. Everyone has a creative spark within them!

image.jpg

I didn’t get paid for this. However, never have I felt exploited nor have I regretted any of this effort. It was fantastically inspiring to work with people who are willing to dedicate some of their time or even their career to make the world a better place, the kind of friends that are worth meeting and keeping.

Back to school season is an exciting time for Filipino children as they look forward to the year ahead, but unfortunately, some of them do not have access to the supplies they need for a successful school year.

image.jpg

Our photoshoot for a cause campaign aims to motivate students to put greater value on education by addressing the lack of basic learning materials, which is considered to be one of the primary reasons behind the high rate of drop out among elementary students. The school supplies consist of items such as notebooks, pencils, pencil sharpeners, pad papers, safety scissors, and various arts and craft materials. We wanted to send out a strong message by highlighting the importance of education in the Philippines.

image.jpg

Despite the slippery and bumpy road in going to the upland barangay, we successfully delivered and personally gave the school supplies to the children.

I’m all about supporting a good cause. I feel great when I have the opportunity to help someone. But it goes deeper than that, I have found the feeling can be addictive. As I support an important cause with my time, I want to do even more to make a difference.

image.jpg

Distributing the school supplies may be exhausting, but the happiness and contentment shown at the young faces of Agsungot children has been priceless. Seeing their warm smiles and hearing their sweet voices saying “thank you” have been enough to impel us to continue serving our less fortunate Filipinos. Yes, our expedition may not be easy, but it was indeed a rewarding one!

image.jpg

By placing backpacks containing essential school supplies into the hands of children, we are giving them important tools they need to start school with confidence and to succeed throughout the year. Our hope is to continuously expand the reach of the project and extend help to more underprivileged students particularly in far-flung provinces.

If you are one of the many who wishes to use your talent to help others, get out and get involved in something that you care about. Images can literally change lives and the perception we have of ourselves. Let's make the world a better place to live one click at a time. 📷

Sort:  

@belvaj, what a great talent for a cause!

Thank you! I honestly wasn't expecting to do well, but I thank God for His grace. 😊

Inspirational post! And a girl after my own heart.

Thank you for sending me over here @jassennessaj

Thank you, it means a lot to me! I will continue to assist in any way I can. 😊

The world is gonna be a better place momi...it only need more hands.

Grabe! Maka heart'2. Hahahah.

So proud to have you here! You can still do them here. Looking forward for more collaborations with you :) You're a star! 😇😇

Thank you for always making me feel cherished, Jas! I will continue to make you proud. I can't wait to work with you! 😄

Such a great woman :) snappy salute again @belvaj... stunning as always hahahaha!

Hahaha! I knew you'd say that. 😝

Hahaha! You should get used to it every time I'll comment on your post hahahaha!

Great post @belvaj and good see the kindness of the community. Im also part of that Cebu FB Group and have seen some of the posts from past shoots for a cause. It makes me want to participate and donate during my trips but has never been able to align with my schedule. Have just returned back to Sydney from a two week trip in Surigao with my partner and reminds me how different life is between firstworld and thirdworld.

Thanks Chris! What particular photography club are you in? I hope to meet you when you get back here. 😊

I've joined in on the Photoworld Asia conventions in Makati a few times and met several photographers from various groups. Have joined many too on FB when I was trying find a team for some shoots and usually have put out posts to source models , hmua's and so for concept shoots.
Quickly checking my FB some groups I can see Im in
-Cebu Photographers and Hobbyists
-Cebu Frelance Models
-Cebu Photographers
-Pinoy photographer and model group
-Manila Models Society
-Philippine Outdoor Photographers

@belvaj My last shoot in Surigao I sourced the team from Davao to shoot underwater in Sohoton. I will be back in Philippines Jan/Feb and be organising more shoots on my free days. Not sure which dates will be in Cebu/Bohol yet.

Thank you for sharing this. You're awesome :D

You are awesome, too! 😄

More like you pls...and your group.
Check us out?
@SteemPH

Maraming salamat po! Yes po, I will. 😊

Always looking lovely kabayan. A delightful photoshoot for a cause. Keep it up! Mabuhay ka! :)

Thank you, kabayan! It’s really encouraging to read such kind comments from someone like you. 😊

Not only a kabayan but also a kaprobinsya. :)
Encouraging each and every Steemian is such a delight. Ingats paguwi ng Aklan bes! ^u^

wow, beautiful lady with beautiful heart, I am following you now ^_^ <3

Aww, thank you for the heartwarming compliment! 😊

Good work for all of you. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64961.60
ETH 3103.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86