Exposing Images From 50 Year Old Negatives That are in Really Bad Shape

in #photography5 years ago (edited)

NegPos.jpg

I found a packet of negatives in an old abandoned house from the 60s.
house.jpg

They were all stuck together. I probably should have researched the subject first, but I just pulled them apart... Oops! I probably should not have done that! Oh well, can't go back now.

From what I have found they cannot really be cleaned much. The emulsion, or whatever it is, comes off taking away part of the negative. I may halt with cleaning, and just accept what is there.

Nonetheless, I am getting some interesting images. I am using a scanner to scan in the negatives, and then Preview on the Macintosh, to invert to a positive, and adjust color. The first images are nice, considering I don't know what I am doing. (I feel kind of like a detective, although perhaps a bumbling one.)

I am going to keep playing with these, to see if I can get the photos closer to what they were intended to be.

Later, Cy Brown

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93