Birding Moosehorn National Wildlife Refuge: Baring Division

in #photography6 years ago

Muskrat43.JPG
Muskrat Ondatra zibethicus is the only member of its genus, and is widespread in North America.

Today I got up early and headed down east. The state of Maine is in the northeastern corner of the U.S., and the easternmost part of Maine is the easternmost place in the U.S. Locally it is called “down east.” I got to the Baring Division of the Moosehorn NWR at about 8:45 after a nearly 3-hour drive, and entered from the north on Channel Road to bird the Magurrewock Marsh area. The first thing I saw when I got there was the muskrat shown above hauling food to its den. Next I noticed this family of geese.

CAGO_7134 (1).JPG

The birding at the marsh was really slower than I’d expected, and I continue to struggle to identify the songs of the eastern warblers. I’ve been studying, but it just takes time. I was able to get a good look at this Swamp Sparrow.

SWSP_7183.JPG

After birding the marsh I birded the area around the park HQ, and managed to see a few species, and get a few photos. It was starting to warm up by then and bird songs slowed down a bit. I also drove the auto loop opposite the entrance road to HQ.

male PUFI_7169.JPG
Male Purple Finch Haemorhous purpureus at the HQ feeder. I took several photos of the PUFI as the light was nice.

PUFIs.JPG

My last stop at Moosehorn was to take a longer walk on Beaver Road on the southern part of the refuge, a more boreal forest, hoping for tougher boreal species. I found none of the hoped for ones, but did see a few more warblers. I finally got a handle on the song of Magnolia Warbler, I think key is that it is clear and quite short, with an abrupt ending. It sounds a bit like American Redstart in quality before the end, but is a lot shorter in duration.

MAWA_7200.JPG
Male Magnolia Warbler. Setophaga magnolia

On the walk I did get good looks at a pair of Yellow-breasted Sapsuckers, though no decent photos. This Spotted Sandpiper flushed off a nest near the road out onto this rock.

SPSA_7232 (1).JPG
Spotted Sandpiper Actitis macularius

From there I had planned to drive to Lubec to stay tonight, but decided to go a bit further south, and am staying in Milbridge, about an hour north of Bar Harbor. I may go on a boat ride there at noon tomorrow.

Swallow tail 9.JPG
Canadian Tiger Swallowtails Papilio canadensis seemed everywhere today too.

Red Squirrel.JPG
This American Red Squirrel was one of numerous mammals seen today, including an American Porcupine, White-tailed Deer, and the Muscrat above.

Until next time, good birding. Steem on!

Sort:  

Nice pictures. Gave this my highest vote. Hopefully, it helps bring more attention to this. We should all value this environment and all the beautiful; creatures in it.

Thanks for the upvote and kind words. I like that the steemit community lets like-minded persons help each other out.

This post has received a 19.76 % upvote from @boomerang.

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 50.00% upvote!
I was summoned by @birdbanter. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

You got a 5.35% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @birdbanter!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-17T02:25:30
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 462.35/200.00
Total Photos: 75
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

You have recieved a free upvote from minnowpond, Send 0.1 -> 2 SBD with your post url as the memo to recieve an upvote from up to 100 accounts!

a great trip. congratulations

Thanks. Whale watching and puffins out of Bar Harbor on for noon today.

Nice pictures. nature is so beautiful

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 64161.84
ETH 2950.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.60