Landed at Logan and on to Mt. Washington

in #photography6 years ago

SOSP 6806.JPG
Song Sparrow Melospiza melodia with a caterpillar in Gorham, NH. The difference in coloration of these eastern U.S. Song Sparrows vs. our western birds of the same species always awes me when I first get out birding in the eastern U.S.A.

Last night I flew a red-eye on Jet Blue from Seatac to Logan Airport in Boston, MA. From there I drove straight to Gorham, N.H. where at 6 AM tomorrow I'll meet a naturalist at the Mt. Washington Auto Road to go up before the road opens to traffic looking to see and hear Bicknell's Thrush Catharus bicknelli. A secondary target bird, that I should be able to find elsewhere if not seen there is Yellow-bellied Flycatcher Empidonax flaviventris. The only disappointment was that a Brown Pelican was found in an easily accessible area back home in Pierce County, which would have been a county first for me if I'd seen it. You just can't get away without missing something.

Bicknell's Thrush is nearly identical to the Gray-cheeked Thrush Catharus minimus, and was considered conspecific until 1998 when it was split into its own full species. It is an unusual species in many regards. Its range is very limited, to high elevation eastern U.S. forests. A cool fact is that both males and females mate with different individuals, and males often feed at more than one nest. In breeding season the males are not very protective of a territory, and several males can be found singing in the same area within a short time frame.

With the split of these two species, an identification challenges was created for birders. In the hand Bicknell's Thrush tends to be more brownish on the back than the more olive-brown Gray-cheeked Thrush. In addition Bicknell's is felt to have more contrast between the chestnut tail and wings and brown back. Still, these species are really best identified by their song on the breeding grounds, and I am hoping to not only see, but hear these birds tomorrow. Wish me well.
COME.JPG
A single female Common Merganser Mergus merganser swam in the pond. These are called Goosander in Europe, a much cooler name.

Today, after managing to stay awake driving from Boston to Conway, N.H., and after a short nap, I scouted the drive to the Mt. Washington Auto Road so I will be able to find it in the morning, and took a walk in the Great Glens Trails cross-country ski and mountain bike trail system. It was late afternoon, and most birds were quiet, but the always vocal Red-eyed Vireos were singing, Hermit Thrushes sang from deep in the forest, and just a few birds showed for photos.

EABL_6808 (1).JPG
A male Eastern Bluebird Sialia sialis was perched on a nest box.

CHSP14.JPG
A Chipping Sparrow Spizella passerina sang from a post near the visitor's center.

IMG_0589.JPG
I like how this tree seems to be growing out of a boulder with roots desperately looking for a place to grab a hold.

IMG_0592.JPG
This Lady Slipper reminds me of the woods I roamed as a kid growing up in Maine.

Until next time good birding. Steem on!

Sort:  

I love the photo of the tree growing from the boulder.

I always enjoy your photography! :)

Here are some ducks I spotted recently. The female is the one with her mouth open, I'm pretty sure, LOL! Actually she was telling him something real loud, when I took the picture! Probably telling him to ask for directions....

20180413_131636.jpg

Dobre zdjęcia, gratuluję.

This post has received a 13.76 % upvote from @boomerang.

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 25.58% upvote!
I was summoned by @birdbanter. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Hi @Birdbanter very good pictures friend, I really liked the tone so real that you have achieved .. the one I liked the most is the close up of: Sparrow Spizella. With what lens is it taken?

the birdies are so cute I wish I could spend some time with them and play

The birdies are so
Cute I wish I could spend some
Time with them and play

                 - teenovision


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

This post has received a 4.76 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @birdbanter.

Awesome little featherballs ; )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95