Helios Test

in #photography5 years ago

lalf4t1mja.jpg


Today I tested an old Russian manual lens: Helios 44M-4 58mm f2. In addition to the mentioned lens, I also used an extension tube, in various combinations of one ring, two or all three together. I also needed the Canon M42 adapter.
I tried to use this lens for macro photography. The day was quite nice, sunny, but also windy, you could feel a light breeze, which is not the best prerequisite for macro photography.
My first impression after taking a bunch of photos is very positive, even more I'm so thrilled with this lens. For just 20-30$ you can buy a pretty good lens. Here are some photos from today's test.


myp2i86io6.jpg


7xd2sh52aw.jpg


chww9g0lkb.jpg


ox64zpjm40.jpg


83i3d33qbo.jpg


8tzsu4kp7w.jpg


4oli96979j.jpg


0v7dzidhhj.jpg


05.09.2019. Thanks for visiting my photo blog
Created by :
©2019 @biti biTi


"One Picture is Worth a Thousand Words"


Sort:  

Very interesting captures!

Posted using Partiko iOS

You have collected your daily Power Up! This post received an upvote worth of 0.09$.
Learn how to Power Up Smart here!

I think it all came out pretty good! The daisy on third shot is nice and sharp.
My fav is the dragonfly though... such a nice glow!

Thanks! :) Yellow color of dragonfly and direct sun rays made it looks like shining gold :)

It did. Stunning!

That came out so amazing nice

I'm glad you like it! :)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Beautiful!

Thank you! :)

awesome shots!

I tried to use this lens for macro photography.

hurrahhh!!!!!! I will be looking to more macro masterpieces from you. mind, that Helios is a soviet replica of a classic German lens by Karl Zeiss! also,-- Helioses are great, but particularly, Industars are even better (for macro). I am thinking about getting one by myself. look at this post (taken with soviet Industar lenses).
https://steemit.com/macro/@chanych85/macro-moss

Thanks! I never heard before for Industar, but after your comment I searched for it. Only what can I say is WOW, this lens is from now on my list next to buy :) It's little bit hard to find in Serbia but it's still possible to find it.

Biti, if you checked that link I gave --
that lichen shots made with Industar + macro coils, not with a single Industar lense. but anyway. I am looking for them myself now ) they are about 3000 roubles, i.e. 50$, smth like that.

Yes, of course I saw this post, if i'm not mistaken that macro ring is 10mm. I also checked out If I can find that lens in Serbia and on my luck I can with price about 50-70Eur.

I am ashamed to say this (dont lol at me) but I do not understand anything about macro rings. I have three rings (got them as a bonus to my Sigma), but I did not understand what benefit I can get, I did not understand what they give ... sadly...

on my luck ... price about 50-70Eur.

well, I wish you can afford it, sooner or later, and it will help you to make another little (or maybe very big!) step forward and photo-skills level-up!

my faves so far:

Hi biti,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you so much @curie! :)

Congratulations @biti! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 70000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 75000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I think the lens is working out very well for you :) I especially like how the colours are so distinct. The insects look very clear and the shots are beautiful. Glad to have you sharing this with us. Thank you!

Thank you @marblely! :) The lens turned out really good, I can say I'm pleased with it! :)

Yay! Happy remainder week to you @biti! Continue to take more photos :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 63252.23
ETH 3035.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73