What a piece of work

in #photography5 years ago

DSCF0280.jpg



Almost everyday before I go in my photo hunt, I doing one silly ritual: I look up towards heaven and say, what have you today prepared for me?! I don't know why I'm doing this, there is no any reasonable explanation.
As you can see on every photos on today's post is a butterfly very well know as Painted lady. I believe everybody saw it at least once in life or heard about it.


DSCF0257.jpg


DSCF0279.jpg


After so many months and years spent near this beautiful creatures I started to notice some tiny details which was impossible to notice at the beginning. For instance, now I can recognize this butterfly just by sound of his wings. This sound is very characteristic only for this kind of butterflies. I saw, observed and studied many kinds of butterflies but I never saw and heard something similar, of course I only speak about butterflies which can be found in area where I live.


DSCF0281.jpg


DSCF0300.jpg


Painted lady is really something special, it looks so beautiful, all those bright colors which decorates his wings are simply astonishing. But there is few more facts that amazing me even more than his beauty.
Life cycle of this beauty is about 12 months, one whole year! I read somewhere that some specimens live even longer than that. If we compare Painted lady with some kinds which life expectancy is just 2 weeks or with kinds which lives from 2 months to 6 months, then is painted lady absolutely champion of longevity!


DSCF0302.jpg


6ixzkylneg.jpg


Often I call this butterfly 'Bird", let me explain why I do that. Many birds species can be envy on this butterfly, because they are migratory kind. What this practically means, every year in autumn they go towards south, usual destinations are South Africa or Minor Asia. They fly two thousand km in one direction, and on early spring they return back. Really impressive!
I never saw faster butterfly, his maximum speed of flying is around 50 km per hour, during migration they are able to travel up to 160 km per day.


DSCF0305.jpg


DSCF0308.jpg


08.06.2019. Thanks for visiting my photo blog
Created by :
©2019 @biti biTi


"One Picture is Worth a Thousand Words"


Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by biti from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

You got voted by @curationkiwi thanks to biti! This bot is managed by KiwiJuce3 and run by Rishi556, you can check both of them out there. To receive upvotes on your own posts, you need to join the Kiwi Co. Discord and go to the room named #CurationKiwi. Submit your post there using the command "!upvote (post link)" to receive upvotes on your post. CurationKiwi is currently supported by donations from users like you, so feel free to leave an upvote on our posts or comments to support us!
We have also recently added a new whitelist feature for those who would like to support CurationKiwi even more! If you would like to receive upvotes more than 2x greater than the normal upvote, all you need to do is delegate 50 SP to @CurationKiwi using this link.

Hi @curationkiwi! Special squad of highly trained hamsters prepared this delegation link for you:
steemconnect 50.0 SP delegation to @curationkiwi.

This post has received a 3.13 % upvote from @drotto thanks to: @curationkiwi.

Very beautiful photos!

Thank you so much! :)

Hi, @biti!

You just got a 1.06% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @free-reign.

Thank you! :)

Beautiful photos of the Painted Lady enjoying the milkweed and thistle. I am amazed that you know the sound of these butterflies wings. I like your ritual and mine is similar. I also enjoyed the video. : ) Thanks for using #butterflyday tag@ biti! : )

Thank you @whatisnew! :) Butterflies are my everyday company, I spend a lot of my time just in watching them. This days painted lady can be seen everywhere, but for few weeks they will be so rare. They really produce weird sound with wings, as their wings was made from nailon or some similar material :)

How nice it is to have butterflies for your everyday company. 2 years ago we had painted ladies everywhere and last year I was lucky if I saw only 3. I haven't seen any this year and I am hoping to see many. I will listen to their wings. : )

Congratulations @biti! You won 1-SBI for Butterfly Day Week 13! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95