Flood of 2018 in Southern Indiana Continues

in #photography6 years ago

This bridge isn't helping!


Fullscreen capture 2272018 71541 PM.bmp.jpg

This is the 'road' I usually travel home on. It doesn't even look like a road!

The flood of 2018 continues. As of right now, the river has dropped about two inches. It needs to drop another THREE FEET before my normal roads don't require kayaks to navigate. It is dropping though, and that's always a good thing, but it's supposed to rain yet again. We won't yet know how it will affect the flood until the amount of expected rain is known. Let's hope it isn't much!

It might not look too terrible, but large portions of towns along the river are submerged. Access to those areas is pretty much nonexistent because of road closures and deep water. I'll have more photos tomorrow... I'm going to check on a town where I like to go fishing sometimes. I've got a bad feeling that they're getting hit pretty hard by this flood.


Here's a few more photos of my area via Phantom 4 from substantial height!


Fullscreen capture 2272018 71809 PM.bmp.jpg

A lonely truck (my truck) sits beside the floodwaters, patiently waiting for the road to reappear.

Fullscreen capture 2272018 71509 PM.bmp.jpg

The mighty Ohio River can be seen overflowing it's banks in several areas near the town of Troy, Indiana.

Fullscreen capture 2272018 72228 PM.bmp.jpg

Our local historic covered bridge was spared from the water this time. It isn't always the case though.

There will be more photos and updates tomorrow, so come back and check them out!


t1rsz_1rsz_my_post.jpg

Be sure to come back for more stories and photos! Follow me @bristowboy


Storm spotter for the National Weather Service office out of Louisville, Kentucky.



Amateur photographer, capturing as many of life's amazing moments as I possibly can. 



Proud former student of @markrmorrisjr and @dolphinschool. Feel free to check out both accounts as they are loaded with tips and tricks for becoming a more successful Steemian.

LIGHTING&PHOTOGRAPHY.jpg

Sort:  

It has been a mess in Michigan too. My parents live in an area that frequently gets cut off from town when the rivers flood. Stay safe!

Our flood season usually doesn't start until sometime in March. It RARELY ever gets this high though. The last time the road in my first photo was impassable was back in 1997! We're supposed to get another 2 to 3 inches over the next couple of days. I definitely won't be using this road at least until March 5th or 6th I'd imagine.

Our worst flood in recorded history was in 1937. The water was a full ten feet higher than it is currently. They say it was a 1000 year flood. I would hate to see it that high. It would be a mega-disaster.

Yikes, that is nuts! We got some pretty heavy flooding in July of last year. There is a disc golf course down by the river right by my parent's house. When I was down there playing several months after the flooding you could still see the water/mud line on the trees and the end of it was a good 15 to 20 feet above head level. It was kind of creepy to stand there and think "I would be 10 ft underwater right now". Hopefully you guys get some relief soon!

One of the guys I work with has been trying to get me to try out disc golf. Yeah I know the feeling of being below the water line. I walk the riverbank lots of times, and you can always see where the water got the highest because of the mud it leaves behind on the trees above. Or to stand in the bottom of a drained lake. It's cool to see how deep the water actually was.

Disc golf is the best. Cheaper than regular golf and you can usually play 18 holes in like 45 min. Just a great way to get out and take in some fresh air. Most of the players are really cool and helpful. My brother in law used to design courses in Kentucky. They live in Indy now though.

The guy from work lives in Kentucky. Maybe he's played on those courses before

Possibly, most of them were around Lexington in the Jessamine County area. If I remember right I think Lake Mingo is one of them.

I'll have to ask my buddy if he's ever played at those courses. Thanks!

We live in south central Kentucky. I've been getting constant alerts about the flooding etc.

I knew it had to be exceptionally bad and your photos sure help add the visuals.

The ground here is so soaked that it feals like we're walking on floating grass ... We live in the mountains!

The daffodils are sure pretty though lol oy and the killing freeze is slated for Friday night :-/

Oh, any chance of getting to The Land Between the Lakes?

Are you going to Western Kentucky? I've never been down to see the lakes. I hear it's gorgeous down there! I don't know how bad the flooding is down there, but you should be able to get there. Our rivers are beginning to drop finally. My roads are still underwater though! It was a bad flood. The worst since 97. The water was a further 2 feet deeper in 1997 though.

We're not going through any time soon. We pass through there when we go collect turkey and venison chili from my husband's family on Thanksgiving.

It is quite nice around the lakes! We went out one Sunday, while we lived in Lexington, just to drive through the park. We did end up wishing we'd taken a tent. It's a bit far for a day trip.

Confession: I was hoping for some drone footage :-D

As they say ... Stay safe!

Ah, well if I head down there I'll take my phantom :) . My nephew goes camping down in that area every year. Maybe I'll tag along next time :)

You should! Even if you don't hunt, I'm she he'd enjoy returning to a fully prepped breakfast. ☺

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60895.62
ETH 2917.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58