Insect as Accessory for Portrait

in #photography5 years ago

Some people do portrait shoots with models in fancy clothes, or in fancy locations, or both, but what do you know about insect portraitography? It is kind of a niche of a niche but I decided to stick my nich in it, oops, meant my chin in it.

BTW our very own @derangedvisions has taken this niche to the fifth dimension, check out his recent post to learn more from the master beyond space and time. I am going to leave the sticking of insects into your mouth for the experts, I am really just an amateur insect portraitographer.

Portrait of a Boy and his Beetle

image.png

Note the contented look as the young squire observes his squiggling prize.

Prey and Mantis

image.png

image.png

Clearly one of the coolest bugs, any bug that knows kung fu is all right in my book.

Speaking of bugs, ASSASSIN

So this one really is a bug. "Bug" is more than just a general term, it can refer to a specific kind of insect that has a particular kind of piercing/sucking mouthpart ("true bug"). This assassin bug could have given me a painful bite if it were not so busy posing for the camera.

image.png

Hand and Caterpillar

image.png

Noted hand model yours truly, and an American dagger moth caterpillar. Hey look at me! I knew it was poisonous and used a twig to pick it up. Yup that cute fuzzy thing is mildly poisonous. The black bristles break off and stick in your skin and will give you a rash or possibly worse if you are allergic.

Also, wouldn't the Hand and Caterpillar be a good name for an English pub? Somewhere in the back they have a giant toadstool you can sit on with a hookah.

Interpretative Dance with Beetle

image.png

Spider Mouth

image.png

Wait what did I say about sticking insects into mouth? Nevermind.

Here is a bonus for all the arachnophobes out there.

image.png

Bonus Grasshopper Sex

Everyone loves a bonus!

image.png

Sort:  

You are the bravest family,lol.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I love the mantis, and that assassin bug and your hooman models are very cooperative, i must congratulate you, great alien being.

The spider shots are the best, of course.

I AM NOT BIASED.

Oh shush. You are verybiased :) That is okay. Spiders are the coolest

Oh, you brought back memories of me falling out of the Hand and Caterpillar in a drunken stupor. That was after a visit to the Cock In Cider. We never did make it to the Shagging Grasshopper that night.

Geez I knew there had to be a pun in the Cock In Cider but I am embarrassed to admit I had to say it to myself a few times before it clicked :joy:

Its actually the name of Jamie Oliver's (a famous chef over here) mobile pub...

image.png

This is awesome

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63747.88
ETH 3130.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89