week four (22-28)

in #photography6 years ago

hard to believe i've been at this project for a month now! nearly a third of the way done. this was the first week that things got hard-- I thought I forgot to take a pic one day (turns out I'd taken one that I forgot about). maybe this means my week was boring?

22

22.JPG
my brother asked if i could fix a dslr he came across, and i told him no, given how disastrously my last camera repair attempt went. i ended up giving it a shot anyway, which led to an interesting few days. it seemed like every damn screw was a different size, and they were nearly impossible to get out! the problem ended up being worse than i thought. at least i was able to get the thing back together and turn it on!

23

23.JPG
somehow the town festival snuck up on me-- i didn't realize it was coming until it was here. my two main streets of travel were blocked off for most of the week and filled with carnival rides, vendors, and other festive things, like two sand volleyball courts, built right on top of parking lots. eastern kentucky goes fuckin HARD when it comes to festivals!

24

24.JPG
i finally finished my 1,000th origami crane this year, and after displaying them in a storefront for a few months, i finally got it together to send them to the a-bomb peace memorial in hiroshima. it's a tradition to send thousand cranes there as a prayer for world peace, or more specifically a world without nuclear weapons. although i had started to make my cranes for a different purpose, that sounded a hell of a lot better to me!

25

25.JPG
my good friends the handshake deals break it down up the road in berea. it was great to see them play, as always!

26

26.JPG
one thing that my brother and i have always had in common is video games. we've slid right back into it, now that we're living together. he got me back into diablo, which has been interesting. many hours together

27

27.JPG
remember that shot earlier of the carnival rides? this is what that all turned into. i was able to talk my brother into heading over to check it out. i was surprised at how many young people there were!

28

28.JPG
and another reference-- here's what's left of the first camera i tried to fix. this one, a film camera, belonged to my grandfather, and was allegedly knocked off a table and never fired again. i tried my hardest to un-stick the shutter, but it just never happened. and since i had to go in thru the lens, it was a pain in the ass to get back together! i ended up buying another of the exact same model for extremely cheap, but stopped using it when i got some film stuck in the canister inside it. today i finally broke down and fixed it!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 66304.34
ETH 2983.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68