Background Music Challenge EP #1 - Making a song based on a photo

in #photography6 years ago

Photography meets Music

Making a song based on a photo

I enjoy consistently challenging myself in music. It's something I'd like to do every week. Today I decided to push myself to make a soundtrack based on a photo.

Adventure Chaser 3.jpg

A little Information on this photo

I took this photo in Melbourne as I was exploring at the time. It had very little significance to me at the time, just another photo for the gram.

So I've decided to take a meaningless photo and give it color and life through music. Here's what I see after inspecting the photo:

The subject being the "Boy" (Me) standing at the mouth of a cave, indecisive if he should leave or not. The cave has teeth, a metaphor of fear, holding the boy from moving forward. However, comfort is the sin that kills us. Maybe comfort in a scary cave would be better than exploring the unknown.

Capturing it through Music

I love music. I swear there's nothing quite like music in this world. In music, freedom is what I enjoy most. There's just so much to explore.

Beginning

Within the first few bars of the song I would like to capture an echoey cave. The teeth of the cave should also chop some of the sonics abruptly. Some ambient glass-like sounds to illustrate the hesitation of the boy attempting to leave would be nice.

Middle

The melody should come in here. It should tell the story of a constant urge to explore. Something familiar. Having strings in the background for some color.

Breakdown

This should be a slightly anti-climatic feeling. Cymbals should foreshadow the movement of the song. Maybe having something in Minor here would work but it might destroy the mood of the song.

Pre-Climax

I want something feel good here. Like violins entering or even some brass. Something feel good to brace the Climax that's about to come.

Climax

This should be a thunder and lightning. It needs to really bring out the feeling of the photo. Does the by exit the cave? What awaits him on the outside? What will happen next?

Back to the beginning

The boy doesn't really exit the cave. He looks like his mind has but not his body. So let things go full circle here. I'll make this song loop-able.

Here's the song!

https://dsound.audio/#!/@cbppls/20180320t064128873z-new-lands-and-hidden-spaces-original-soundtrack-for-films

I don't think I hit quite the mark on this one. I'll try again in the next challenge. Stay tuned!

Also, feel free to join me in these challenges. Make a song for a photo or take a photo for a song. I'll see you in the comment section.

Sort:  

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

I would like to join u if only i know how to write songs.

Thanks for the idea haha. I've started a new project where everyone can write a song together thanks to you.

Also, I wrote this for anyone who wants to start writing songs:
https://steemit.com/music/@mewnusic/mewnusic-how-to-write-your-first-song

This is actually a fantastic idea for a competition!

Maybe you could start one where you post a picture and then people have a week to submit an original song based on that picture?

I would enter it for sure!


Add dsound & Musicoin tracks and get more plays!


Follow @JuxtaMusic for More Of My Music

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 10 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 12 SBD worth and should receive 55 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69774.83
ETH 3620.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.72