Daily photography - White-tailed deer

in #photography6 years ago

Have you ever seen white-tailed deer at close range?

If not, this post is for you! I am lucky to spot some every time I go to Bois-des-Esprits, a small forest near my house. They are part of a group of 20-30 deer that call the area their home.

Also known as Virginia deer, white-tailed deer are found across the American continent, including the United States, Canada, Mexico, Peru, and Bolivia. They have a reddish-brown coat in the spring and summer, which becomes grey-brown the rest of the year.

Bucks (males) sport antlers during the warm seasons and weigh between 68 and 140 kg. Does (females), which are lighter, give birth to one to three fawns at a time, usually in May or June. The latter are recognizable to their white spots.

Whitetail deer are fast animals, reaching sprinting speeds of up to 58 km/hour. They are also very agile, with an ability to make 2.5-metre-high and nine-metre-long leaps!

The deer in Bois-des-Esprits are used to human presence. So, they are not very shy and can stand very close to you. My policy is to stay at a safe distance and move slowly, so as to avoid creating problems for myself. I have met people who try to feed them, but it is not a practice I condone.

I took the photos below within the last couple of years...

Deer 7 scaled.jpg

Deer 9 scaled.jpg

Deer 12 scaled.jpg

Deer 15 scaled.jpg

Deer 22 scaled.jpg

Deer 28 scaled.jpg

Deer 23 scaled.jpg

Deer 20 scaled.jpg

Deer 18 scaled.jpg

Deer 16 scaled.jpg

Deer 13 scaled.jpg

Deer 10 scaled.jpg


If you liked this post, leave a comment and share it! Thank you!


See my photography and limited-edition prints for sale by clicking the image below:

Cendrine Marrouat Large scaled.jpg

Sort:  

I've never seen these white-tailed deer before! They are really unique. Thanks for the informative post.

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

@avant, I'm glad you liked the post!

@mhm-philippines, yes they are common animals in these parts. :-)

@gibic, yes, they are used to human beings. So you can stand really close to them. If you don't move too much, they will not bother you. They are just naturally curious animals.

@nananini, it depends on the time of the year. They tend to be larger during the winter...

@tatoodjay, thank you!

Saving those precious resource credits!

I have seen many white tailed deer up close, but I enjoyed your photography very much!

They’re so lovely! I never seen it before. My favorite is the last one, looks like they don’t really care and just walking around 😀

They look much bigger than the deer I am used to seeing around various places I've lived here in the US.

Those are very nice close-ups. Wonderful to have them in you neighborhood, I'm sure.

These are such cute shots so cool you see them often

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=cendrinemedia
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=daily-photography-white-tailed-deer


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94