A Brief story of “How my love for photography was born”

in #photography7 years ago

As I’m 50 years old, my first meet with photo, happened on dinosaur era…
When I was a child, my father was an enthusiast too, and he was a happy possessor of a camera, a Zeiss Ikon Contina one.

mm01.png

Other ages, analog film, slides, all manual, sensibility, exposure calculations, distance evaluation, “hey what ! no sort of electronic control, really existed this !?!” will probably say someone who is in 20 years age.
Yes, all manual, all was calculated and thoughtful by your mind, no help of any sort from devices or instruments, the cost of a photometer was so high that only professional photographer could effort to buy one.
And when you ended a film cartridge of 36 exposures, you had to carry to a developing center and wait minimum a week to have back your photos. Scared and excited at the same time for the results of your shots.

Some years later, solved the problem, my father bought me a Polaroid instant camera. The era of instant view of what you portrayed, was there, but at the cost of black and white only.







Then becoming adult, the first (always analog) reflex, a Yashica 108.
With some lenses, a new world of taking pictures come to me, zoom to take closer details, or wide angle for panoramas, an exposure control, that helped, confirming what you shot, great improvement in creativity, and speed to take a photo.

Then, come the digital era, my first digital camera was an Epson photo PC, low resolution, but instant view of the result, and in color !!! “One small step for humanity, a giant leap for me…”.

This is my first digital shot with it, when I bought it for Christmas. Seems so stupid now, but at that time, the wonder of my fist digital photo, was so high.

Time passed away, and come the Reflex digital.
Still at work, and proud of it and what I can obtain with that gear. With the advent of digital photography, new techniques, like HDR, Time lapses, Long exposures, new way to interpret the subjective, and to find new creativity ways of shooting. Some compact camera, smartphones, and now also my last compact camera to carry always with me, “Hey, you don’t know when you can find a good subject to take a picture no ?”


I still like to take some pictures, in manual mode, to add something to the shoot, but I do not mind sometimes to use the "program mode" and let the camera do it by itself. lazines happens...

Some of my best shots are at http://500px.com/cesmak, where I am a member by some years.

Thanks for reading my long story, new works and photos in the future also for steemit…

Cheers Marco.
Sort:  

That Contina is a lovely looking camera. I wouldn't mind trying out one of them.

Unfortunately has broken, but my brother still have it, to remember our father....

It's nice that you still have it in the family even though it's broken. And, hey, you never know, maybe somebody out there might be able to fix it.

Yeah one day, we have to try to find someone..... :)

Well I hope you find someone, it would be something special to be able to take some photos with the camera your father used.

And that i used too, and where i learned to take photos....

My dad had an Exakta when I was a child, but he rarely used it. My first camera was a Kodak Instamatic, which took the 126 film cartridges. Got it in time for the 1965 World's Fair in the NYC and somewhere I still have those photos.

Next was a Nikon FM, bought by my dad when he worked for Broncolor (Nikon and Bron used to be part of Ehrenreich Photo Optical then). When that was lost, first I got a P&S Nikon Coolpix then a Nikon D60. Now I have a D3300, and am very happy with it.

Whoa, also your history is very rich of facts and objects, compliments.

Thanks. I really do enjoy photography, and hope to post more of my photos here on Steemit. Right now, I don't have the time.

Wow... that is some story! Really enjoyed reading it.
Do you still have all those cameras? The first one is amazing.
Believe it or not, but I also started with film camera - something like your Epson. Kids now have no clue what it is like for the film to develop and get all the photos ready.
I also remember some very old Russian one we had. It never had any film in it, but I loved playing with it. It was great - it had that brown attached cover box to it.

Yes, the contina, is broken but in my brother hands, also the yashica borken, but still in my hands, polaroid and the epson, no, i don't have them any more. Thanks for you words.

My pleasure :)
I never had a chance to use Polaroid. Always wonders how do they work and make those tiny photos :D

I was a child, and passed 35/40 years, so i don't remember exactly, how it worked (i mean the technical principles), but i still have some of them, faded, yellowed, but still in my hand, and in my box of remembers. The use was simple, you took the shot, on the side of the camera, there was a tab, you pulled that tab, and extracted the photo, waited some minutes then peel it of from the substrate, and in another couple of minutes the photo faded in and become visible, at that time, all of that seems magical, for a child like me.

Exactly. Magical! I just saw them on TV and was like WOW....

Congratulations @cesmak! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68688.65
ETH 3764.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.51