My experiences in a true haunted house

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

Some time ago, a friend from Galway, Ireland asked me if I was interested in haunted houses and their stories. He claimed to know a real haunted house and offered to show it to me. I agreed. I'm always up for adventure.

My buddy Ben had only recently discovered Moore Hall in County Mayo, which was hidden in the forest. He had been walking with his girlfriend. Both swear stone and leg that they have heard footsteps inside the abandoned building. And the sound of a loudly slamming door. Ben also claims to have heard the conversation from two people who are talking excitedly. Both he and his girlfriend are, however, a hundred percent sure that they were alone in the grounds of the dilapidated mansion.

Front2.jpg

The Moore Hall once belonged to the writer George Moore, who became famous for his novella "The Lake". Ben said that nobody really liked this George Moore and that he was mostly alone in his mansion. I did not check it. I'm interested in what's going on in this house today.

On the day when we drove there, a heavy gray cloud coat hung over the building, of which only the outer shell stands. Gnarled branches growing out of empty windows looked like reminiscent of skeletonized fingers. Yes, someone could really scare at this place.

The eerie tunnel

Geist1.jpg

Behind the house we discovered a tunnel that led to a wooden lattice. From there you enter the former basement rooms of Moore Hall, a gloomy labyrinth whose floor is covered with rotten leaves and splashing mold. I perceived a very peculiar smell. A mixture of burning smell, decay and flower scent. I have never smelled anything like this before.

As we explored the basement, I suddenly had the feeling of being watched. The others did not feel well either. Daniel, our youngest, even claimed something had touched his shoulders. We looked around intensively but could not find anyone. With goose bumps on our arms we retreated.

Children's laughter

We circled Moore Hall and sat down on the stairs leading to the main entrance. First recover and breathe deeply.

Eingang.jpg

Daniel said that there are certainly other people here. I asked him how he came up with that. After all, we had been there for almost an hour and had not seen any human soul. Daniel asked if we had not heard the children laugh.

Children's laugh? Here? Daniel said he had heard it on the way from the tunnel. We argued violently and did not believe him. But he still insisted on hearing it. At some point we dared to look it up. We made our way back to the tunnel and listened.

Suddenly Ben hissed "Shhh!". And then we all heard it. It was indeed a child's laughter and seemed to be coming from the ground floor. It sounded hollow, like an echo. We got goose bumps again and did not feel well anymore. But in each of us were still remnants of the logical mind that does not recognize spirits and finds a natural explanation for everything. Maybe there were really kids in the building?

We rounded Moore Hall and peered into every window wherever possible. We did not discover anyone. The building was definitely empty.

Retreat

The uneasy feeling did not want to give way, so we decided to go back to the parking lot. Ben stopped again and again and turned to the house. "Call me stupid, but something is watching us. And I believe that it follows us." Wir gingen schneller, wollten nur noch weg von diesem Haus.

Verwunschen2.jpg

It was only when we reached the parking lot, the uncomfortable feeling of us fell off. Each of us heaved a sigh of relief. Ben later told us that from the time we first explored the tunnel, he had the feeling of being observed by something evil. Daniel could not take the child laugh out of his head. I myself had the strange smell in my nose for a long time and share my feelings with Ben. I, too, had the feeling that whatever lives in this place has no good in mind.

I do not expect you to believe what I wrote here. Consider this post just as a nice scary story or as an unusual travelogue about a dilapidated building. But do not get the idea to visit Moore Hall in County Mayo, Ireland. Something or someone might be expecting you there.

Sort:  

I have done this sometimes in my country, but I cant find any haunted house or abandoned house (or something like that), I think that they are scarce. Good post btw.

my last post contains a free gift Happy New year everyone!

Ghosts appear irregular @richhz06. Very often nothing happens. Maybe you were just present at the wrong time. Do not give up.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=changetheearth
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=my-experiences-in-a-true-haunted-house


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)

top photos with a great place lucky you! @steemminder

Congratulations @changetheearth, this post is the most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 8143 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $2712.40. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Thanks for the list @bitgeek. I don´t know anything about Dust accounts and Mega Vests. I just tried to create a good story :-)

Heya, just swinging by to let you know you're being featured in our Daily Travel Digest!

I'm not even going to pretend like I'm not terrified right now, and I love ghost stories. It was very well written @changetheearth, great post.

I will love to make a trip to the Moore hall to see if it's a property I can buy and as well adopt those children you heard their laughter; this story is so scary but I'm not a scared type.... I love this.

Hey @eetyyudeme, if you boy Moore Hall you will get some demons for free as a special offer :-)

Thanks for the great story.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59359.30
ETH 3007.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75