Aurora In Alaska

in #photography5 years ago

Saw the best show so far this year last night and I was home by 10:30 PM! The aurora came out very early at around 8 PM last night, it usually peaks around midnight. I headed to a close spot near my house and looked north. I stood around for about 20 minutes and then the sky exploded. It was so strong you could see it with just your eyes over the bright city lights. A short and sweet show compared to the hours of waiting we did on Saturday, just to see nothing that night. I'm thinking about doing an updated guide on shooting the aurora and astrophotography including tips and techniques I've learned recently. The Kp rating was a 6 and was even visible down in the northern states of the lower 48!

All photos were taken with a Fuji XT2 and a Rokinon 12mm f/2. ISO 1600 - f/2.0 - 5 seconds


DSCF0078.jpg


DSCF0051.jpg


DSCF0062.jpg


DSCF0066.jpg



DSCF0071.jpg


DSCF0075.jpg


DSCF0085.jpg


Thank you for all the support! Like I said before, aurora season is just getting started so keep an eye out for many more posts to come this winter.

-- Chase

Previous Posts:

A Late Night By The River
From Canada To Glacier National Park
A Winter Wonderland In Alaska
Road To Moraine

Sort:  

Wow!!!! I haven’t seen anything like this! So beautiful

The aurora is one of the most beautiful sights I've seen too! Thanks for the comment!

I'm so disappointed I uninstalled my KP index app. It was strikingly clear skies last night, and I bet I could've seen it here in Idaho.

Always next time!

Yes! 👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Would love to see some aurora, one day I will 😎

Congratulations @chaseburnett! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Still never seen one. Looks

Wow, amazing! you should do the guide. I love to do astrophotography my self as well so I would love to hear some pro tips.

lovely photo :) Cheers!


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Wow! That's really neat! God has so many wonderful things for us to see!

Congratulations @chaseburnett! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 500 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 1000

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95