Exploring The Coast

in #photography6 years ago

My semester in school is coming to a close and I now have more time to spend on blog posts here on Steemit. The season is also changing rapidly here in Alaska. Summer is on it's way and my friends and I have been taking advantage of it and exploring the state. Last weekend we took a drive to the Kenai Peninsula to an area near the town of Nikiski. We drove out onto the beach at low tide and explored the flats. We passed massive rocks revealed by the constant erosion of the sea that dwarfed our vehicle. Further down the beach we discovered a hidden fishing spot only accessible at low tide. The building has been around for over 50 years perched precariously between a rock and the land.

With the changing season comes an explosion of new color in the landscape. The evergreen trees are shifting from a dark hue to a more vibrant green as the state experiences more and more daylight. The snow is quickly melting away revealing rugged mountains and crystal blue water. We drove from the south back up north and caught a soft sunset on the coast near Hope. We stood around our first fire of the season and watched the light slip below the horizon.


DSCF5097.jpg
f/4.0 - ISO 200 - 1/2000 sec


DSCF5091.jpg
f/4.0 - ISO 200 - 1/2000 sec


DSCF5104.jpg
f/4.0 - ISO 200 - 1/1600 sec


DSCF5113.jpg
f/4.0 - ISO 200 - 1/1600 sec


DSCF5123.jpg
f/4.0 - ISO 200 - 1/1600 sec


DSCF5129.jpg
f/4.0 - ISO 200 - 1/1600 sec


DSCF5154.jpg
f/2.8 - ISO 320 - 1/640 sec


DSCF5156.jpg
f/4.0 - ISO 320 - 1/500 sec


DSCF5158.jpg
f/4.0 - ISO 320 - 1/500 sec


DSCF5167.jpg
f/4.0 - ISO 400 - 1/80 sec


I can't wait to spend the entire summer camping and hiking. The road trip my friends and I are doing is only 55 days away and we'll be on the road for 45. We will be traveling from Alaska down through BC, Washington, Oregon, and then over to Virginia. I plan on sharing each day here on Steemit and telling stories about our adventures.

I also recently moved systems from Nikon to Fuji and all photos were taken with an XT-2 and the 10-24 lens. This is my first mirrorless camera and so far I'm loving the experience. The entire system is lighter and more versatile and has been more fun to shoot with.

Thank you for supporting my posts and reading about my adventures. I now have more time to spend on Steemit and I plan on posting as much as possible over the next few months. I'd love to hear about any exciting adventures you have planned for the summer!

Chase

Sort:  

Did you find any spirit stones?
Some awesome concreations can
be found there at low tide :-)
Like to get up to that area ourselves!

Extremely awesome photography @chaseburnett
And such amazing adventures!!!

It's awesome to see the snow melting away and the warm air coming to stay!

Wow wonderful photography please check my blog

I'm glad we'll be seeing more from you....... Hope your break lasts a while

What a nice place!

This looks like a trip I need to take soon :)

Seeing these beautiful scenery pictures, I know that Droneshots of this area would be breathtaking also.

Love your photography!

A good set of photos from a long hiatus :)

Oh Fuji! Planning to switch system too from Canon to Fuji soon :D

I absolutely love it! Glad to be back. Thanks for the support :)

Aah man, I wanna travel Alaska so bad! D:

Nice photo story, as usual. I especially like that portrait shot of the white mountain peak with the green trees at the bottom. Nicely done!

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63894.44
ETH 3342.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.91