Detroit Riverwalk <3

in #photography7 years ago

Do you ever have a moment where you're just loving where you're living?

I felt that way last night when taking a walk at the Detroit Riverwalk as the sun was setting. It was the perfect weather for a walk (around 70 degrees) with a slight breeze and cotton candy skies. There was a good number of other people walking or biking around, but not too many. In Detroit, a lot of locals like to decorate their bikes with LED lights, speakers, and other trinkets. When we started our walk, there were lots of people blaring music with a heavy bass, but I noticed that as the night went on, the general music vibe transitioned to softer jazz.

There's this small hill that has wild flora which smells amazing. This is where I took this picture.
IMG_1808.JPG
View of the Riverwalk with part of Detroit's city skyline in the background

I'm really happy they've been developing the Riverwalk. There are some nice developments, including some water features.

IMG_1809.JPG
I always see little kids playing here.

Earlier this year, there wasn't nearly as much plant life as what I saw last night. We also saw fireflies, which remind me of my childhood.

IMG_1804.JPG
Wildflowers!

There is also a lily pond that's slowly populating!
IMG_1805.JPG

If you're ever in Detroit (when there's good weather), I hope you get the chance to explore the Riverwalk. It's definitely a special place!

Sort:  

I have absolutely loved what has become of Detroit. The city has become so energized, and the riverwalk is no exception. Great post and great photos

I agree! Thank you @geofftk!

My home city. It's looking better and better!!!

Beautiful pictures, Jane!

Thanks @kotturinn! Come back soon! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61258.08
ETH 2873.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56