3 Days in a Mumbai Slum

in #photography8 years ago

During my time in Mumbai, I was fascinated by the economics and general psychology of the slums. Being a westerner, I was not exactly welcome to just walk in and start taking pictures and talking to the locals. However, over time, as I built more of a relationship with them, and spent much time playing with the children, they began opening up and letting me into their world.

india1

The children were wonderful; so full of joy and life despite what many would consider less than ideal living conditions. They played, they laughed, they cried, and most of all, they welcomed me with open arms. To them, I was just another person who wanted to have fun with them and I was quite welcome.

india1

Once they felt comfortable, they allowed me to take a few pictures of their life. Here's a pretty grim reminder that these are actual living conditions for many around the world.

india1

india1

india1

india1

Sort:  

Your pictures are beautiful

Thanks mate!

nobody in this world should be living like this - stark contrast between Mumbai slums and the city across the railwaylines and water!

Definitely there are skyscrapers visible from the slums.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70999.72
ETH 3678.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81