North America Nebula (NGC 7000) with Hubble palette

in #photography7 years ago

1

The North America Nebula (NGC 7000) is a large emission nebula in the constellation Cygnus, close to Deneb (the tail of the swan and its brightest star). The remarkable shape of the nebula resembles that of the continent of North America, complete with a prominent Gulf of Mexico. The distance from earth is around 1600 light-years with a size of 100 light years, covering an area of more than four times the size of the full moon). (dixit Wikipedia )

2

To take this photo i used the following setup:
Scope: TSOptics 80/350
Mount: AZEQ6
Camera: Atik One 6.0

The total exposure is around 8 hours over 2 nights in july 2016. As my camera is black & white i use Hubble color palette by stacking and mapping to RGB a combination of:

9 photos of 20 min flitering around Ha ray of Hydrogen
7 photos of 20 min filtering around OIII ray of Oxygen
7 photos of 20 min filtering around SII ray of Sulfur

I used the software Prism 10 to manage the capture, the pre-treatment (Removing offset, dark and flat). The stacking and the post-treatment was done with Pixinsight and at the end Photoshop.

Technical detail of the photo here: https://www.astrobin.com/255551

If you want more information, ask me in comment !

I hope you enjoyed it! If it is the case, resteem and follow me to see more astrophotography.

Sort:  

Wow, you put a lot of effort to that work and it shows. Usually most of the drawings or paintings on here are things relating to matter on this planet. Not so much being "that far above", lol.

Fantastic job and we'll deserved. Awesome post. :)

Thanks lot! i'm happy you enjoyed.
It is a very hard work, lot of night imaging, lost of time to setup, lot of time for the treatment...

Awesome photo! It surprised me when I read that you took it yourself. But after a brief moment if disbelief I realized that someone is the photographer of every space photo I've ever seen. Interesting with some info about how you capture and process a photo like that.

Thank you :)

Space is in my dream. It's so big .
Nice , thanks for posting.

Thanks for your comment !

Very good. I dream from a space travel... Do you come with me?

nate-hallinan-h-card-15-web01.jpg

Killer photography post nice work
Visit my blog some photography & art I hope u like it

Wow, it does look like the Gulf of Mexico, doesn't it?

@clodoweg Well done for sticking at it! Followed.

Päris hea! :) Viskaks kohe 5 upvote, kui saaks ! :D

I don't understand but thanks :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62656.62
ETH 2941.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59