Abandoned/Graffitied Building off the Schuylkill River Trail

in #photography6 years ago (edited)

We parked at the Mowere Road Trailhead of the Schuylkill River Trail (SRT) and walked about a mile and a half along the French Creek and into downtown Phoenixville.

It was First Friday in Phoenixville and pretty crowded, and my wife and I decided to stop at the Rec Room by Conshohocken Brewing Company and later the Root Down Brewing Company for a cold pint.

There are a crazy number of breweries and beer/wine selling/serving establishments in Phoenixville! All-in-all, it's a cool little town that is trying hard to become a preferred destination in Eastern PA.

Along the SRT, I saw a small foot path leading off into the woods and I decided to do a little exploring. I'm glad I did, and the photos below show the abandoned building that I found and, of course, decided to photograph.





















All images @cognoscere and taken on Friday June 1st, 2018 just off the Schuylkill River Trail in Phoenixville, Pennsylvania (Sony DSC RX100M5)

Sort:  

Really cool shots. Do you ever run into anyone when entering these abandoned places? Don't you worry about people who might not like you venturing into their hiding spaces? I, for one, am glad you take the chance so you can share your findings in photos!! Thanks @cognoscere.

Once did I approach an abandoned building and saw two teenagers leaving. I remained as quiet as possible until I saw that they were gone.

You find the coolest abandoned places. Seems the visitors to this place had some amusing names: Lil Stinky, Lil Mouse. I like how this place was wide open and you could see all the greenery outside.

yeah, I also liked the way the vegetation was in the process of intruding.

Abandoned yes. But not abandoned at the same time - clearly some young people hang out there. How dangerous!! I would crown one of mine for being this adventurous. I can see evidence of a hang out, besides the graffiti.

It also reminds me of an episode of Criminal Minds :)

Nice photo series!

I had a really uneasy feeling being there, that's for sure. For one thing, it was really hot and insanely humid. It was so deserted but, at the same time, it made me feel like someone would suddenly show up. I took the shots I wanted and walked away briskly!

hehehe....booo....I'll bet it felt like being watched. I passed by some deserted buildings on the weekend. I wanted to kind of peek inside but passed. I said....looks like another murderer's house.

Great photos you got though. It's all about the pictures @cognoscere!!

Looks pretty old and now a mite dangerous. Kids still getting some use out of it.

Nice to see you use "My wife and I" instead of "Me and etc.". Thanks for info and photos.

Haha, I should thank an English teacher, and also my Mom who was a stickler for grammar.

Nice, clear shots of the abandoned building! The plant overgrowth accents the graffiti quite nicely, as if the building was previously broken down without hope or respect but now life is coming back

Thanks, the plants definitely added to the vibe IMHO.

What a fun discovery @cognoscere. Great photographs.

I love following roads and paths when I don't know where they go. You never know what you might find. 😊

That's for sure.

It's very interesting place and you take awesome pics .

Watching places like these on your blogs give me goosebumps don't know why hahah :D

Way cool

wow amazing :) following bro :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62