Storm Clouds on the Horizon

in #photography5 years ago

With that title I thought about writing a doom and gloom sort of post, lamenting the state of the crypto market in general and Steem in particular. It then occurred to me that one or two people might have done that already and that y'all are are probably more interested in my photos than another one of those posts so I'll spare all of us.

Being on a mountain during a thunderstorm can be an interesting experience, especially if you're above treeline, where it can be downright deadly. It's definitely a sight to see though, there's just something about seeing lightning play tag with the mountaintops as you watch the rain advance inexorably towards you that is fascinating and awe inspiring. During the summer in the Rocky Mountains thunderstorms are an almost daily occurrence (practically every afternoon), so you have ample opportunity to observe them. This shot is from one of my hikes near Bear Lake in Rocky Mountain National Park, those clouds are part of the first of three storms I had the privilege of enduring on that hike. Fortunately the storms rarely last long, I'd have to find shelter for 15 minutes or so and then it would be past.

emeraldhike.jpg

I'm curious, all you travelers/wanderers/photographers out there, what's your favorite mountains to play in? I'm looking for ideas for new places to travel (@cave-man has already convinced me I need to go to Nepal) so any comments/suggestions will be appreciated. Thanks for dropping by!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05