Dwarf Gecko catching some early morning sun - Lygodactylus capensis

in #photography7 years ago

I spotted this little cutie while walking through the botanical gardens, my safe haven. I was lucky enough to capture these shots of this dwarf gecko as they are generally quite skittish, but this one did not mind me taking photos while basking in the sun, well camouflaged on an aloe leaf .

20171003_114757.jpg

Dwarf Geckos are native to East Africa and can mostly be found in forests and woodlands. These little geckos are neutral in colour and not commonly kept as pets like their flashier cousins. They are light brown with a pale dorsolateral band which break up into light spots towards the tale and their bellies are cream. Males reach the length (from head to the tip of the tail) of 43mm and females only 39mm.

20171003_114801.jpg

The gecko’s tail serves as an extra limb due to the underside being covered with adhesive lamellae which helps it to stick, the tail can easily drop and regenerate. When moulting the gecko assists by detaching the skin and consuming it. They are oviparous, the female generally lay two eggs under bark or cracks in rocks. Their diet consists of termites and ants, but they also like to forge on scrubs.


Image Credit

Photos were taken with a Samsung Galaxy S7.

Keep smiling, reading, writing and voting!!

Sort:  

Smiling because I think no other lady I know will call this little bugger a cutie. :-)

What can I say ace108, I am one of a kind. I do not mind reptiles, spiders or insects, I actually find them very fascinating. Guess my ex and boys got me used to all kinds of animals as they are farmboys. In the first year of my marriage, I had to deal with roadkill (monkeys, owls, frogs, name it) in my freezer because my ex wanted to dissect them. I quickly got him his own freezer. I am glad I could make you smile. Enjoy a fabulous week!!!

You have a good week too.

everyone needs the early morning sun..even the lizards
great post

Especially after a cold winters night. Thank you for this, emperorrichie.

yes especially after a cold winter night... you're welcome

What a beautiful sharp picture! I really like the sound of gecko's, they sound so funny!

I have never heard them so will definitely make it a point to listen next time. Thanks for triggering my curiosity.

I think the one which makes the sound is an other kind but i dont know that much about geckos..

amazing man. i mean how did you manage to capture those images with your mobile. skillful.

These Samsungs are amazing phones. You just need to play with the angle.

Very beautiful!!!

Wow nice looking creature out there. Do you regularly find those out in the garden.

Yes, I do and some other species but they are too fast for me most of the time, I was lucky with this one.

Excellent post, I invite you to visit and support my blog

Very interesting thank you for sharing appreciate

Love my Geikos!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63892.45
ETH 3117.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87