Things You Should Be Doing, Today and Always: Look Harder

in #photography6 years ago

crimsonclad orange hummingbird at sunset

It stands to reason that if you never open your eyes, you'll miss most of the world as it passes you by.

 
      There are very few of us who actually stop dead in our tracks to squeeze our eyes shut on purpose, so the observation may sound trite — but there are different types of not seeing that extend beyond simply attempting to shut our immediate surroundings out. It's been over two weeks since my last post... but it's not because I sat down and gave up. My gaze and my attention got locked onto a Steem routine, where posting ended up at the bottom of the heap, out of sight. Each time I hit one of these slow downs, it takes stopping and looking at the web of all the interconnected parts to remember that while it may not be as important as my other responsibilities, posting is still a crucial part of being fully immersed in this ecosystem. Every now and again, I need to remind myself to do this stop and look. If I can't find reasons to post — to be successful, to be motivated, to be challenged, to find enjoyment — then I need to look harder.

Taking my camera out to the woods is good practice for reminding myself how to open my damn eyes.

 
crimsonclad small orange hummingbird on a stump

I walk the same trails around my home as often as I can; different routes through the same trees on the edge of the same water shaded by the same mountains.

 
      There's complacency in familiarity and the passage of time. Anything you repeat often enough becomes comfortable. We assume a level of knowledge that is beyond our observation. It sits behind our eyes, deep in our subconscious, and allows for autopilot — we can look without seeing, navigate by knowing. It's an altogether useful skill, except for the pesky reality that it often holds us back even though in some ways we're optimizing performance. I can go along, doing all the things I need to more excellently the more I do them... but I might miss out on the changes, the details, the new opportunities, and in the case of blogging, the old ones.

The same dead tree, the same gnarled bark, the same textures and bumps and protrusions. Or not.

 
crimsonclad stump with hummingbird closeup

I went most of my life in Vancouver not realizing there were hummingbirds here. I just never bothered to look.

 
      I never actually thought about it. I hiked and gardened for years, just assuming what I had seen and what I knew was the bounds of what existed, even though I feel I am more open to the new than most. My eyes slid through the dappled shadows of leaves more easily each time I gained a better knowledge and appreciation of what was there (or so I thought.) It took being buzzed by a needle sharp beak for coming too close to a set of fingernail sized eggs as a hilariously-cute-but-terrifying reminder that just because I'm looking around me, doesn't mean I'm seeing.

So now, any time I feel like I'm losing the plot or I'm getting too caught up in routine, I go looking for hummingbirds.

 
crimsonclad orange hummingbird on bokeh

If you haven't done it today already... look harder.

 
crimsonclad orange hummingbird at sunset

Keep on being as amazing as you are. But if you're stuck, or bored, or lacking motivation — even if you're none of those things and you're doing more fabulously than ever before — look harder.

 
      Whatever you're doing, wherever you are, there's more to see. In the worst places, there's opportunity to be spotted. In the best, there are pitfalls that can be sussed out. At the height of your game, there are new methods and habits and chances just waiting beyond the edge of your vision. In the depths of ennui there are intriguing possibilities, loose threads to be pulled, and roads less traveled by we've been walking by without knowing forever.

crimsonclad orange hummingbird at sunset

Where I'm going with all this is that there's always more to see, to do, and to experience. It's always there, waiting for you.

 
      If you haven't posted for a while, look harder. If you need a bit of inspiration, look harder. If you're on a meteoric rise right now, look harder. If you're feeling absolutely terrible, look harder. Whether you like what you see or dread what you've discovered, the learning and growing, the new perspectives, and the fresh discoveries are worth it. It's not blockchain, or even blogging specific — it's practice for living a more mindful life... and who knows what you might actually see, or produce? It might be even more delightful as an instant in time when a frenetic inch tall cyclone fluff of feathers comes to rest. Go take a look, already~

crimsonclad orange hummingbird at sunset

These photos and words are my own work, inspired by travels all over this pretty blue marble of ours. I hope you like them. 🌶️

 
xox, crimsonclad

Hi, I'm Crimmi. I run a top 20 STEEM witness with my project partner @followbtcnews. Please reach out to us on Steem.Chat or Discord any time! If we haven't earned your vote, please consider SteemTipper, our community work, and STEEM.Chatvote for followbtcnews if you feel we're doing a good job.

Sort:  

Wow, this really resonated with me. I signed up for steem about a month ago, not really knowing what I was doing or what I would post. In joining up with some beginner contests and following some trending tags like #colorchallenge etc. It really brought home how much was passing me by as I moved from what spot to the next. I'm an avid hiker, and it had all become about pace. Forest for the trees and all.

So cute! Yikes that you got pecked by them, did it hurt? And fingernail sized eggs, can't even imagine it.

Funny thing is that only after the third flip through of the photos did I notice the piece of wood had a tiny hummingbird in it. Is that a baby? Or are you far away from the piece of wood?

Well, I guess I almost missed that application of the message there haha ;).

Those little guys are monsters. You're lucky he let you walk away from that mistake. Hummingbirds are some of the most aggressive birds on the planet, because their caloric needs are so high, and their corpus so specialized, that every single day is a life or death event for them. They have to hibernate when they sleep, else they will freeze to death. So they live wide open and glorious, all the time. If they were the size of crows, it wouldn't be safe to walk in the woods.

Nobody said loving was easy. <3


Congrats, you made the #steemitminute for today!
Click the Image Below to see the Video!

This post was like something that I have been living thru recently and I felt happy reading this. I will totally go and look my own hummingbird and be amazed at what life has to offer!

So true. Need to push yourself. Following.

Beautiful photos and sentiments, Crimmi – I needed this gentle reminder today.

Hummingbirds happen to be a favorite of mine – I quite feel like one, myself. <3

Particularly resonating with this:

'In the depths of ennui there are intriguing possibilities, loose threads to be pulled, and roads less traveled by we've been walking by without knowing forever.'

I've been known to say something similar, when encouraging people to pause and look a little deeper at the everyday – to not simply buzz between car and front door – but to really look at what's there. Indeed, there are tiny universes just waiting for you to notice.

steemit-posts-179(full).jpg

Very inspiring! Thanks, hon. I needed that today.

It's not exactly wildlife but at the same time you were making this post, I was taking a picture of this little mural that I stumbled on while out walking around.

Thought it'd give you a chuckle.
20180807_172604.jpg

This is the part I like the best.
20180807_172614.jpg

TL;DR! Until the poetry of your words pulled me in. Then the consistent flow of this beautiful reflection resonated and cut through all - everything. This... is the potential I see. The utility of this platform. Empowering people to break out of certain patterns. To learn, to grow and to do things they may or may not have done otherwise. It is more valuable than we realize and has the potential to change many lives. It will.

Great message! (no really, great message)

Beautiful photos and the message :)
This is the real meditation, simply noticing everything around you and not thinking or judging, simply looking. I've been surprised many times even on the same routes I take daily ^^

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99